In Texas, defensive driving courses are offered both in-person and online. If you receive a traffic ticket in any Texas county, taking a defensive driving course may allow you to dismiss the ticket and avoid points on your driving record.
A safe driver course can also help you save money. Many insurance companies offer a discount to drivers who complete a defensive driving course.
If you choose to take an online defensive driving course, take a moment to review these requirements you must meet:
You must be eligible to take a defensive driving course in Texas. Generally, you are eligible if you have a valid Texas driver’s license, your ticket is for a moving violation and not for a serious offense like DUI or leaving the scene of an accident, and you have not taken a defensive driving course within the past 12 months.
The course must be at least six hours long, as mandated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).
The course provider must be approved by the TDLR to offer defensive driving courses in Texas.
The course must cover specific topics mandated by the TDLR, such as Texas traffic laws, road signs, and safe driving techniques.
You must complete the course within 90 days of enrollment and pass the final exam with a score of at least 70%. Upon completion, you will receive a certificate of completion, which you will need to provide to the court or to your insurance company as proof that you have taken the course.
It is important to note that while taking an online defensive driving course can help you dismiss a traffic ticket or earn an insurance discount, it is always a good idea to check with your court or insurance company beforehand to ensure that they accept online courses.
The state approved DriveSafe Online Texas Defensive Driving course meets and even exceeds these requirements. Our program is a valuable investment in your safety and driving record.
Look for These Online Course Features
When evaluating online defensive driving courses, take a close look at the features included in the base price such as:
- Interactive Content
- Completion certificate
- 100% online access
- Mobile device compatibility
Some course providers advertise a low upfront course price, but that only unlocks the text-based version of the course. They then tack on additional fees if you want access to audio or video, plus another charge to receive your completion certificate. That initial price can quickly double right before your eyes.
DriveSafe Online doesn’t believe in hidden fees. For the same price as other providers’ low-tech course, we give you full access to all narrated and video content, interactive exercises, quizzes, and even the completion certificate, which is sent directly to your email inbox the moment you successfully finish the course.
Plus, all DriveSafe Online customers get access to our award-winning customer support. Our 20+ years in business means we’re here to back up our product. Think of us as your travel partner right by your side, whether you want to dismiss a ticket, save on insurance, or simply learn to become a safer driver.
Join 500,000 drivers who use a DriveSafe Online defensive driving. Select I’M READY to lock in your low price now. You can begin the course whenever your schedule allows.