NEWS ALERT: Have you received a traffic ticket? Due to COVID-19 safety guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and the Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH), some Georgia Courts are now accepting our online Defensive Driving courses for ticket dismissal. Check with your Court to find out if you are eligible.
Georgia Online Defensive Driving Course
Easy, Full-Screen Video, & No Hidden Fees with a Money-Back Guarantee!
Click “START” to save on your car insurance in Georgia. Now allowed in select Courts.
Most drivers use the 1-hour version to get their defensive driving discount.
Choose the 6-hour course to meet insurance or Court requirements.
No Hidden Fees
Never had them. Never will. Our simple pricing means you get access to the full video course and completion certificate for one low price.
No Course Timers
Forget the digital speed bumps. You control your own pace through the course (unless timers are required in your area).
You’re mobile and so is our course. Enjoy the most engaging online defensive driving course on your favorite tablet anytime, anywhere.
Money Back Guarantee
No risk. We promise your money back if you’re unable to save on your insurance with our course certificate.
Our Georgia Defensive Driving Course Features:
- No course timers
- 100% online and mobile friendly
- Fully narrated video and animation with closed captioning
- Certificates available after course completion
- Money-back guarantee
- Only $24.95 with NO hidden fees
Brought to you by the DriveSafe National Road Safety Association – Experts in online driver safety education
The Georgia DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving Course is administered by the DriveSafe National Road Safety Association, Inc., a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity dedicated to increasing driver knowledge and safety by offering courseware, training materials, data findings, and more to members nationwide.
The vision of the DSNRSA is to teach drivers how to identify, avoid, and overcome hazardous driving situations. DSNRSA courses boost driver confidence by promoting safe driving strategies and techniques that will help decrease the number of traffic-related injuries and deaths on our streets and highways.
Complete Georgia Online Traffic School in Shortest Time Allowed
When you take one of our Georgia driving courses, you are in the driver’s seat. You control your own pace. With no timers, we made it easy for you to avoid the no-passing lane and move through the video material like a delivery driver on the open highway.
Also, with mobile-friendly programming, the courses look great on computer screens or smaller tablet displays. So, if you begin a course on your computer at home, and then continue it on a tablet during your daughter’s karate class, no problem. The course remembers where you left off so you won’t have to repeat content or miss any critical information.
Enjoy the Most Engaging Online Driver Improvement Programs in Georgia
We made our Georgia driver improvement courses interesting to watch and easy to navigate. Topics are presented in short chapters based on the latest Georgia Driver’s Handbook.
All DriveSafe Online defensive driver courses include high-quality video with in-car and drone footage to offer multiple views of driving situations. Unique animations highlight important information and demonstrate key driving techniques. Interactive scenario activities promote safe driving decisions. And helpful review quizzes reinforce Georgia laws and regulations to help you pass the certification assessment.
Did you know?
The average insurance savings for Georgia drivers who take our course is $177.77 per year and $533.31 over three years.
Take Advantage of Georgia Driver Money-Back Guarantee
We like our Georgia driver education courses and stand behind our work. And we believe that you’ll like them, too, which is why we offer a money-back guarantee.
If you are unable to save on your motor vehicle insurance with our course completion certificate, we will refund your money. It’s that simple. You have absolutely nothing to lose…except for some bad driving habits.
Enjoy the benefits of the best Georgia Driving Course including
- Reduce auto insurance premiums up to 10% per year for 3 consecutive years
- Avoid points on your license due to speeding tickets
- Refreshed and improved driver education
- Unique in-car and drone video for real-world perspectives
- Practice quizzes to help you pass
- Online 24/7 access to fit your schedule
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Georgia accept online defensive driving courses?
Yes. Many Georgia courts currently allow drivers to complete an online defensive driving course to help with a ticket. Keep in mind that acceptance is on a case-by-case basis. Always check with the court where you received your ticket to find out if online courses are allowed, and if you are eligible to take a defensive driving course. With permission from the court and a completion certificate from DriveSafe Online, you may prevent points added to your driving record.
How much is a defensive driving class in Georgia?
The cost for taking an online defensive driving class can vary depending on the reason for taking the course and the company offering the program. You can expect to pay up to $95 if a court orders you to take a driver improvement class from a live instructor for license reinstatement or point reduction.
For eligible Georgia drivers, DriveSafe Online offers a 6-hour online defensive driving course for just $24.95. Whether you need to meet certain court requirements, or simply want to earn an insurance discount, DriveSafe Online is your best option.
No need to travel to a classroom. The program is 100% online and available 24/7.
With a DriveSafe Online completion certificate, you may be able to prevent points BEFORE they are added to your license. Always get court permission before you register for any course.
Are Georgia online defensive driving courses legit?
Not every company that promotes online driver improvement courses to Georgia drivers is legit. You must do your research to find effective programs that meet your specific needs.
The developers at DriveSafe Online have more than 25 years’ experience creating online training and education programs. Hundreds of thousands of people have completed an online course created by our award-winning team. You have to be legit to reach those milestones.
If your insurance company offers a defensive driving discount, we can help you qualify for a lower rate. If you received a traffic ticket, and your court allows online driver improvement courses, we can help you avoid points on your record.
How long does an online defensive driving course take?
If you are a Georgia driver looking to meet specific court requirements, you must take the 6-hour defensive driving course. The Georgia Department of Driver Services sets the duration to ensure online courses cover necessary information, such as safe driving attitudes and behaviors and rules of the road.
If you are interested in earning an insurance discount, you may qualify to take the shorter DriveSafe Online 1-hour course. Always check with your insurance agent or traffic court clerk to see if you are eligible.
What is the fastest defensive driving course?
DriveSafe Online offers the fastest online defensive driving courses allowed in Georgia. Our 1-hour course is ideal if you are interested in earning an insurance discount. Check with your agent to see if your insurance provider offers a defensive driver discount.
Our 6-hour course satisfies most court requirements. Since approval can vary from county to county and even from court to court, it’s smart to always get court approval before registering for any online course.
What is the best defensive driving course online?
DriveSafe Online was named “Best Overall Online Defensive Driving Course for 2021” by Investopedia, a leading resource for consumers and investors.
We always believed our DriveSafe Online courses were the best. Independent reviewers agree that DriveSafe Online courses are the best. And most importantly, with an “Excellent” Trustpilot score of 4.8 out of 5, our customers believe DriveSafe Online courses are the best.
If you’re looking for an online defensive driving course that’s interesting, flexible, and affordable—with outstanding customer service operated by real people— you’ve found the best.
Can I get a ticket for making a U-turn in Atlanta?
It depends. In many scenarios, drivers may legally make U-turns. However, there are some instances where it is illegal to make a U-tune in Georgia.
- You may not make a U-turn on a curve.
- You may not make a U-turn when approaching the top of a hill and your vehicle cannot be seen by oncoming traffic.
- You may not make a U-turn when it is unsafe and you will interfere with other traffic.
- You may not make a U-turn at locations where a posted sign prohibits the turn.
If you receive a ticket for performing any of these U-turns, you could be fined up to $1,000 and have three points added to driving record.
How to get your defensive driver insurance discount in Georgia:
- Contact Your Insurance Agent
Safe drivers save insurance companies money because they have fewer accidents, so they file fewer claims. That’s why traffic school classes are a popular option for improving driving skills and knowledge. Ask your insurance agent if you can get a discounted rate for completing our online Georgia defensive driving course.
- Register and Complete the DriveSafe Online Georgia Defensive Driving Course
Registration is simple and takes only a few moments. Once you select your DriveSafe Online course, you’ll have access to the full list of course options including multimedia, practice quizzes/final assessment and the course completion certificate.
- Get Your Georgia Defensive Driver Completion Certificate
Once you successfully pass our safe driver course, you will receive your completion certificate by email. You can also have the certificate emailed directly to your insurance agent who can begin processing your insurance discount.
How Much Money Can I Save on My Auto Insurance?
Completing a defensive driving class will make you a safer and smarter driver, and could even get you a sizable discount on your auto insurance.
Many insurers offer discounts up to 10% off premiums for clients who complete an online defensive driving course. This represents an average savings of $177.77 per year and $533.31 over three years per driver in Georgia. Check with your insurance provider to find out if you qualify for a defensive driving discount.
Can I Get My Ticket Dismissed in Georgia?
If you get a traffic ticket in Georgia, be prepared to pay the price. Not only will you be charged a fine for the violation, but points could be added to your driving record.
Speeding in Georgia
For example, drivers caught speeding through the State of Georgia will be assessed the following points:
2 Points – 15 to 18 mph over the speeding limit
3 Points – 19 to 23 mph over the speeding limit
4 Points – 24 to 33 mph over the speeding limit
6 Points – 34 mph or more over the speeding limit
Georgia Permits Point Reduction
Georgia residents may request up to 7 points removed once every 5 years, if they complete a defensive driving course. You should be familiar with all the requirements before applying for a Georgia DDS points reduction.
Georgia Point System Details
Georgia uses a system that assigns points to traffic violations. If you are convicted of an offense, the court notifies the DMV and points are added to your driving record. The more serious the violation, the more points you receive.
For example, speeding 15 mph over the speed limit registers 2 points, while aggressive driving could add up to 6 points. If you collect 15 points within 2 years, your license could be suspended.
Georgia drivers may be able to remove up to 7 points every 5 years. To be considered for point reduction, qualified drivers must successfully complete a defensive driving course and submit their certificate to the DMV. Visit the Georgia DDS website for more information.
Georgia Department of Drivers Services (DDS)
The Georgia Department of Drivers Services (DDS) is the official government DMV office that provides Georgia driver’s licenses and state identification cards. Whether you’ve earned your first driver’s license, need to renew your existing license, or you simply have questions about Georgia driving laws and regulations, the Georgia DDS is a great resource for all your DMV needs.
Find the Nearest Georgia DMV Office
The Department of Drivers Services has many locations throughout Georgia. Visit the Georgia DDS website to find the office closest to you. You can search for Customer Service Centers to see addresses, phone numbers, hours of operation and even the services each office provides. Be sure to review this information so you know where and when to plan your visit.
Schedule a Georgia DDS Appointment
The Georgia DDS only accepts appointments for road tests. If you are a teen ready for your behind-the-wheel test, or you are interested in getting your commercial or motorcycle license, you may schedule an appointment at your local DDS office. Be sure to visit the DDS web site and review the requirements before scheduling your road test.
Documents to Take to the Georgia DMV
If you need to visit the DMV, you will most likely need to take documents to prove who you are and where you live. To avoid a wasted trip, visit the Georgia DDS website to review the list of required documents to complete your task.
How Do I Get a Georgia Driver’s License?
Getting a Learner’s Permit
Driving for the first time is a memorable event. It’s the first step in the graduated process toward earning your CLASS C driver’s license. To apply for your learner’s Instructional Permit, you will need to do the following:
- Be at least 15 years of age
- Pass a vision exam
- Pass the written knowledge test over road rules and signs
- If under 18, have a responsible adult, such as a parent/guardian or authorized driving instructor, sign your application
Getting Your Provisional Driver’s License
There are several requirements you must meet before getting your provisional (CLASS D) Georgia driver’s license. For instance, you must:
- Be at least 16 years of age
- Satisfy Joshua’s Law requirements, which includes completing an educational course and having no less than 40 hours of experience behind the wheel with a supervising adult
- Have owned a learner’s permit for a minimum of one year and one day
- Pass a road skills test
Getting Your CLASS C Driver’s License
Once you have held your provisional driver’s license for one year and one day—and you have not committed any major traffic violations—you are ready to visit the nearest Georgia Customer Service Center to upgrade your license to the full CLASS C Georgia Driver’s License.
How Can I Access the Georgia Drivers Manual?
The main requirement for earning your Georgia driver’s license is to pass the written test. The Georgia Drivers Manual covers everything you need to know to pass the test. So study early, study often…and then study some more.
Can I Take a Practice DMV Test?
They say practice makes perfect. Take this DMV practice test to measure how well you know the information, as well as to review the types of questions you will see on the official knowledge exam.
How Do I Renew My Georgia Driver’s License?
You may renew your Georgia driver’s license 150 days BEFORE it is due to expire, or up to 2 years AFTER it expires.
There are multiple ways to renew your license including online, in person at a DDS office, by regular mail, or through the DDS 2 GO Mobile App. Click here to download the app.
If you are renewing for the first time, or are applying for your first license, you must visit a DDS Customer Service Center in person. Be prepared to provide documents that verify your identity, social security number and your home address.
25 Years of Training Experience
DriveSafe Online® defensive driving courses are developed by the same award-winning eLearning team trusted by top companies around the world to train millions of people.
Some of our clients and partners include Oracle, Hyatt, Cessna, Kellogg’s, PepsiCo and Georgia-Pacific. We have been creating online courses since 1994. In fact, we helped develop many innovative standards you see in online courses today.
Simply put, we know what it takes to create online courses that are interesting, fun to take and actually help you learn.
Our work has earned multiple awards for:
- Best content
- Best advance in technology
- Best innovation
Now our team is focused on revolutionizing online driver education.
DriveSafe Online courses merge unique graphics and animations, interactive scenarios with narrated stories and video demonstrations—including in-car and drone footage—to deliver safe driving information like no other online defensive driving course available today.
Our mission is to develop a better way to help you:
- Save money on your auto insurance
- Meet court-ordered driver improvement plans
- Dismiss traffic tickets
- Reinforce your driver road knowledge
- Become a safer driver
The way we see it, we all share the same streets and highways. If we each take the time to do our part to understand driving laws and regulations, improve our driving performance, and be courteous to other drivers, the roads will be safer for everyone to enjoy.
Drive smart. Drive confident. And always, DriveSafe.