Delaware Online Defensive Driving Course
DMV approved. Save up to 15% on auto insurance. Earn a 3-point credit on your driving record.
Click “Start” to begin the best Accident prevention course in Delaware
Earn 10% off your insurance premium when you complete the Basic Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention course
Maintain your insurance discount and increase savings to 15% after 3 years when you complete this course
No Hidden Fees
Never had them. Never will. Our simple pricing means you get access to the full video course and completion certificate for one low price.
Shortest Course Allowed
Make the most of your time. Our courses are the shortest online driver improvement courses allowed by Delaware law.
You’re mobile and so is our course. Enjoy the most engaging online defensive driving course on your favorite tablet anytime, anywhere.
Money Back Guarantee
No risk. We promise your money back if you use our course for an auto insurance discount and are unable to save with our course certificate.
Our Delaware Defensive Driving Courses Feature:
- Delaware state-approved content
- Bookmarking allows you to pause the course and come back later
- 3-point driving record credit
- 99% passing rate on first attempt
- Certificate emailed to you immediately after completion
- Money-back guarantee
- Only $19.95 with NO hidden fees
Why Take the Delaware Basic Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course?
Save money. The DriveSafe Online 6-hour Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention course is approved by the state of Delaware DMV to reduce your auto insurance premiums by 10% for 3 years. Give your course completion certificate to your insurance agent to begin saving money.
Earn 3-Point credit. Completing the Delaware 6-hour safe driver course also entitles you to a 3-point credit toward your driving record. If you have points added to your record due to traffic tickets, these credited points can help reduce the negative effects of those violations.
The point-reduction process is fast and simple. Once you complete the course, you don’t need to do anything else! Your completion information is sent directly to the Delaware DMV.
Why Take the Delaware Defensive Driving Refresher Course?
Maintain savings. The DriveSafe Online 3-hour Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Refresher course is designed to help Delaware drivers maintain their auto insurance savings.
To qualify for the 3-hour course, you must have completed the 6-hour Delaware Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course. When you are within six months of the three-year expiration date for the 6-hour course, simply take the 3-hour Refresher course and return the completion certificate to your insurance agent.
Save more. Not only will you continue to enjoy a discounted insurance rate, but the savings will increase to 15% when you complete the Refresher course.
Did you know?
At approximately $180 savings each year, you could keep more than $500 in your pocket over three years.
Complete Delaware Online Traffic School in Shortest Time Allowed
The DriveSafe Online Basic and Refresher courses — based on the Delaware Driver Manual — provide all the information you need to pass the final assessment in the shortest amount of time allowed by Delaware law.
You control the pace through the material. Start and stop the course whenever you like. The intelligent bookmarking feature remembers where you left off so you won’t miss information or have to repeat any material.
Mobile-friendly programming makes DriveSafe Online courses look great on computer screens or smaller mobile displays. So, you can start on your laptop at home and finish the course on your phone between errands.
Enjoy the Most Engaging Online Driver Improvement Program in Delaware
Tired of reading long blocks of text copied from DMV manuals disguised as online driving courses? We are, too. That’s why we reimagined the online defensive driving course to create a program drivers enjoy taking.
Our DriveSafe Online driver improvement program runs like a playlist with bite-sized defensive driving videos. Move seamlessly from one movie to the next to learn about driving-related laws, regulations, techniques and best practices. You can even use the video library to replay a specific movie.
We mix high-quality videos featuring in-car and drone footage with interactive road scenarios and helpful review quizzes to create a safe driving course that’s interesting to watch and easy to navigate.
Enjoy the benefits of the best Delaware Driving Course including:
- 10% savings on your auto insurance premiums
- 15% insurance savings for completing the refresher course
- Refreshed and improved driver education
- Unique in-car and drone video for real-world perspectives
- Practice quizzes to help you pass
- Online 24/7 access to fit your schedule
From Wilmington to Dover to Fenwick Island…we have Delaware covered!
Frequently Asked Questions
- Delaware Defensive Driving
- Delaware Insurance
- Delaware Point Reduction
- Delaware DMV
- Delaware Driver's License
Frequently Asked Questions about the DriveSafe Online Delaware Defensive Driving Course
How long is a defensive driving course good for in Delaware?
There are a lot of good reasons to take the DriveSafe Online Delaware Defensive Driving course. You’ll learn some new skills, brush up on knowledge you may use less often, and don’t forget about the auto insurance discount.
Once you complete the basic course, your 10% insurance premium discount will be good for three years. When you’re within 6 months of that three-year mark, you’ll be able to take the refresher course – and your insurance discount will go up to 15%!
How many hours is an online defensive driving course in Delaware?
The First State has so much to offer. Whether you’re enjoying a relaxing day on our boardwalks and beaches or in our state parks, there’s a lot to experience. That’s why DriveSafe Online offers the shortest defensive driving courses allowed by state law.
The DriveSafe Online basic course is a 6-hour motor vehicle prevention course, where you’ll learn strategies for protecting yourself, your passengers, and others on the road. Then, every 3 years, you’ll be able to complete the 3-hour refresher course to maintain your knowledge – and your insurance discount!
How many modules are in a Delaware online defensive driving course?
At DriveSafe Online, we believe that learning should be fun…and easy. We don’t want to throw a bunch of information at you with no rhyme or reason. We take a clear and concise approach to delivering content so it will stick with you and keep you safe on the road.
The DriveSafe Online Delaware Defensive Driving courses are broken up into easily digestible chapters. If you need to start and stop in the middle of the chapter, that’s fine too – our easy bookmarking lets you pick up where you left off without repeating content. But the 10 chapters in our basic course, and the 8 chapters in our refresher course, keep the material organized and help you speed through it.
Can I get points removed for taking online defensive driving course in Delaware?
If you want to keep your driver’s license in good standing and your car insurance at the lowest possible rate, you need to be aware of the points on your driving record. Points are added for each traffic infraction. For example, in Delaware, going less than 10 miles over the speed limit will earn you 2 points on your driving record, whereas speeding by 15-19 mph will earn 5 points. Points remain at full value for 12 months after an infraction and drop to half value the following 12 months.
You can earn a 3-point credit on your driving record by completing the DriveSafe Online Delaware Defensive Driving course. Don’t have any points on your record? That’s great! You’ll be able to keep that credit in reserve in case you have a future incident.
Is defensive driving training mandatory in Delaware?
Sometimes it seems like life is just a series of rules. Do this. Don’t do that. And it can be frustrating when it seems those rules have no rhyme or reason. But driving rules are very important because they keep us all safe. Learning, understanding, and following those rules can literally be the difference between life and death.
While defensive driving training isn’t mandatory in Delaware for adult drivers, it does offer many benefits. Not only will you brush up on skills you may not use frequently, you’ll also get updated on new laws and learn new techniques while earning a car insurance discount. You may also be able to earn a credit toward the points on your Delaware driving record.
Are online defensive driving courses approved by Delaware?
Sorting through the many options available for defensive driving classes in Delaware can be a real chore. There are in-person classes, online options, and courses that combine the two. And once you select a delivery method, you have to worry about whether it’s approved by the state.
When you choose DriveSafe Online Delaware Defensive Driving courses, you can rest assured that you’re getting a Delaware-approved course. It’s also the shortest course allowed by Delaware law. That means you’ll zip through an engaging learning experience in no time while reaping the benefits of a state-approved course.
How to get your defensive driver insurance discount in Delaware:
1. Contact Your Insurance Agent
Ask your agent if you qualify for a discounted rate for completing a DriveSafe Online Delaware Defensive Driving course. Safe drivers save insurance companies money since they typically have fewer accidents and file fewer claims than risky drivers.
2. Take the DriveSafe Online Delaware Defensive Driving Course
Registration is easy. Take the course on your desktop, laptop or tablet. You can even switch from one device to another without missing important information.
3. Receive Your Delaware Defensive Driver Completion Certificate
Your completion certificate is emailed immediately after you pass the course assessment. No waiting. No additional forms to fill out. No extra charges to pay. Just give the certificate to your agent to begin saving on your insurance.
How much can I save on my car insurance?
Completing the DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving course can help you save up to 10% on your auto insurance premium. At approximately $180 savings each year, you could keep more than $500 in your pocket over three years.
That’s good news. But there’s even better news!
Increase your insurance discount to 15% by completing the Delaware DriveSafe Online Refresher course within six months of the three-year expiration date for the 6-hour course. That means you get to keep even more money each year.
What will you do with all that extra cash?
Delaware Point Reduction
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles allows a 3-point credit for completing the DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving Course. The credited points are available to apply to any future traffic tickets you may receive.
The most common traffic violation in Delaware is speeding. You can plan to have the following number of points added to your driving record if you are caught going faster than the posted speed limit in The First State:
2 points – 1-9 mph over posted speed limit
4 points – 10-14 mph over posted speed limit
5 points – 15-19 mph over posted speed limit
Delaware Point System Details
Points added to your driver’s license remain at full point value for 12 months after a violation. Those points are then reduced to one-half point value the following 12 months. The DMV calculates points accumulated within a 24-month period after a traffic offense is documented.
The Delaware Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program monitors poor drivers and seeks to change their road behavior. If the Delaware DMV identifies you as a problem driver, you may receive notice depending on the seriousness of your violation. The notice could be in the form of an advisory letter explaining or even a mandatory suspension.
The DriveSafe Online Delaware Defensive Driving courses provide the instruction, techniques and knowledge you can use to avoid being identified as a problem driver.
Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles is the official government office providing driver services to Delaware residents.
The Driver Services area of the DMV is responsible for educating and licensing drivers, as well as monitoring and improving the performance of licensed Delaware drivers. Contact a Delaware DMV representative to answer any questions you may have about receiving or renewing your Delaware driver license.
Find the Nearest Delaware DMV Office
Multiple Delaware DMV facilities are located throughout the state. Review the DMV office locations and hours of operation to know exactly where you need to go and when you should visit. A little pre-planning will help you avoid wasting your time with an unnecessary trip.
Documents to Take to the DMV
There are updated rules and regulations regarding the documents you must present when applying for or renewing your Delaware driver license.
Documents required include (but not limited to):
- Birth certificate or valid passport
- Social Security number
- Two proofs of Delaware residency
To make your visit to the DMV as productive and quick as possible, review the list of documents accepted by the Delaware DMV. Keep in mind that the Delaware DMV accepts only original documents or certified copies.
Getting a Delaware Driver License
Delaware Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program
The Delaware Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program allows younger drivers the opportunity to collect real-world driving experience. Teen drivers are typically high-risk drivers. By getting supervised practice behind the wheel, they can become more confident drivers.
Level 1 Learner’s Permit Guidelines
- be between 16-18 years of age
- complete driver education course
- pass a written test
- pass a road test with driving instructor
- have parent/sponsor sign the application
Level 1 Learner’s Permit drivers are permitted to drive only under the supervision of a licensed adult driver (21+ years of age) for the first six months. During that time, the teen driver must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving time.
Class D License Guidelines
- be at least 17 years of age
- complete Level 1 Learner’s Permit Guidelines
If you are 18 years of age or older applying for your first driver license, you have the option to bypass the GDL program.
Review the Delaware DMV GDL Quick Reference document for complete details outlining the Graduated Driver License requirements and restrictions.
How Do I Renew My Delaware Driver’s License?
Your Delaware driver license is issued for eight years and may be renewed anytime within six months before it is due up to its expiration date.
You can renew your license at any Delaware DMV facility or online on the official Delaware DMV website.
There may be specific restrictions and guidelines to follow if you are renewing for the first time. Be prepared to provide required documents that verify your identity.
How Can I Access the Delaware Drivers Manual?
Whether you’re applying for your learner’s permit or renewing your current license, you must be familiar with the most up-to-date Delaware driving laws and regulations. The online Delaware Driver Manual includes all the information you need to pass the written Delaware DMV test.
If you want to practice before tackling the real deal, the Delaware DMV offers an online sample driving exam. This test lets you experience the types of questions to expect on the final DMV written test.
25 Years of Training Experience
DriveSafe Online® defensive driving courses are developed by the same award-winning eLearning team trusted by top companies around the world to train millions of people.
Some of our clients and partners include Oracle, Hyatt, Cessna, Kellogg’s, PepsiCo and Georgia-Pacific. We have been creating online courses since 1994. In fact, we helped develop many innovative standards you see in online courses today.
Simply put, we know what it takes to create online courses that are interesting, fun to take and actually help you learn.
Our work has earned multiple awards for:
- Best content
- Best advance in technology
- Best innovation
Now our team is focused on revolutionizing online driver education.
DriveSafe Online courses merge unique graphics and animations, interactive scenarios with narrated stories and video demonstrations—including in-car and drone footage—to deliver safe driving information like no other online defensive driving course available today.
Our mission is to develop a better way to help you:
- Save money on your auto insurance
- Meet court-ordered driver improvement plans
- Dismiss traffic tickets or reduce points
- Reinforce your driver road knowledge
- Become a safer driver
The way we see it, we all share the same streets and highways. If we each take the time to do our part to understand driving laws and regulations, improve our driving performance, and be courteous to other drivers, the roads will be safer for everyone to enjoy.
Drive smart. Drive confident. And always, DriveSafe.