TEXAS APPROVED ONLINE DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSE

Dismiss your ticket, save on insurance, Type 3a driving record available.

TDLR Approved – CP075

COURSE ONLY $25

plus $3 state-required administrative fee

Course price includes email certificate delivery, full-screen narrated video, and an easy course with no final exam – all for the lowest price allowed by Texas law!

Course+3A Record
$43.95

$52.99 ONLY $43.95! Bundle your course with the Type 3A Driving Record and meet all your court-required ticket dismissal needs at a lower cost. Act now and save on everything you need to clear your record!

COURSE ONLY
$25

$25 for the video course and certificate plus a $3 state-required administrative fee.
Don’t Risk Your License with a School Not Charging this Mandatory Fee.
(effective 09/01/2021 per Texas Education Code Section 1001.352. click for details)

Curso en español
$25

$25 por el curso en video y el certificado más una tarifa administrativa obligatoria del estado de $3.
No arriesgues tu licencia con una escuela que no cobre esta tarifa obligatoria.

DRIVING RECORD
$25

To meet court requirements, you must have a valid Texas driver’s license, proof of insurance, a defensive driving course completion certificate, and a copy of your Type 3A Texas Driving record.

h

Emailed Certificate Included

Free instant electronic certificate. Pass our TDLR-approved course and your completion certificate is sent to your email inbox immediately at no additional charge.

Full-Screen Narrated Video

You get access to the entire defensive driving video-based course content for the lowest price we are allowed to charge by Texas law.

No Final Exam - Easy to Pass

Our defensive driving course is easy to pass and there is no final exam. See only the information required by TDLR.

Mobile Friendly

Our course looks great on your favorite mobile device. Enjoy the most engaging online defensive driving course on your phone, tablet, or laptop anytime, anywhere.

Enjoy Key DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving Course Advantages 

DriveSafe Online $25 Price Includes:

  • Digital Certificate Emailed Immediately
  • Full-Screen Narrated Video
  • No Final Exam — Easy & 100% Online
  • Mobile Friendly — Plays on Any Device
  • Start and Stop Around Your Schedule
  • Shortest Course Allowed by Law
  • Lowest Price Allowed by Law

Why Choose the DriveSafe Online Texas Defensive Driving Course?

The DriveSafe Online Texas Defensive Driving course is created with you in mind to meet your specific needs.

Dismiss a traffic ticket: If you receive a traffic ticket in Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, or any city in Texas, you may be able to complete our defensive driving course to dismiss the ticket and avoid points added to your driving record. This option is for certain traffic violations and is often available on a court-by-court basis, so make sure you receive court approval to take our online course before registering.

Fulfill a court order: In some cases, a court may require you to take our TDLR-approved defensive driving course as part of a sentence or plea agreement. Completing the DriveSafe Online Texas Defensive Driving course allows you to fulfill this requirement from the comfort of your own home.

Lower your insurance rates: Completing our Texas defensive driving course may also qualify you for a discount on your auto insurance. Many insurance providers offer reduced rates for customers who complete a driver improvement course. You could save up to 10% on your annual premiums for three consecutive years. That could equal hundreds of dollars. Check with your insurance provider to see if they offer this discount and if you qualify.

Improve your driving skills: The DriveSafe Online Texas Defensive Driving course teaches you how to anticipate, identify, and avoid road hazards. After all, the best way to avoid tickets and skyrocketing spikes in your insurance premiums is to prevent accidents and poor driving behavior before they happen.

Convenience: The DriveSafe Online Texas Defensive Driving course is more convenient than traditional in-person courses. Complete the program on your own schedule from anywhere with an internet connection. Our course includes smart bookmarking so you can stop and start as often as you want without losing your progress. Complete the course in one sitting or spread the learning over several days. You control your own pace.

The DriveSafe Online TDLR approved course can help you dismiss a ticket

HUGE SAVINGS

DriveSafe Online’s Texas Defensive Driving Courses can help you dismiss a traffic ticket and save you hundreds of dollars on your auto insurance. The savings last for three years once you complete the course.

Can you afford to wait?

Best Online Defensive Driving Course
DriveSafe Online is mobile friendly

Complete the Texas Online Defensive Driving Class in the Shortest Time Allowed

Texas law requires online driver improvement courses to be at least 6 hours in length. The DriveSafe Online Texas Defensive Driving course is based on strict requirements defined by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).

The mobile-friendly design lets you make the most of your time. Begin the course on your home computer and finish the next day on your tablet or smartphone. The course tracks your progress. Start and stop as much as you want without missing any content. 

Enjoy the Most Engaging Online Driver Improvement Program in Texas

Full-Screen Videos

DriveSafe Online is unique because it features short, bite-sized videos that fill the entire screen on your device for easy viewing. Our high-quality video includes in-car and drone footage to demonstrate key defensive driving techniques in a way that’s easy to remember when you need help most…behind the wheel.

End of Chapter Quizzes

Short review quizzes at the end of each chapter test your understanding of specific material when it’s covered. This approach makes the content easier to remember, which makes the quizzes easier to pass.

Certificate of Completion

Whether you need your course completion certificate to satisfy court requirements or to earn a discount on your car insurance, timing is important. That’s why we created a system that emails your completion certificate immediately after you finish the course—at no extra charge! Just pass the course and then check your email inbox.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

How Does It Work?

Step 1: Verify

Check with the Texas court where you received your ticket to make sure your traffic violation qualifies for dismissal by completing an online defensive driving course. If you are interested in receiving an insurance discount, talk with your agent to find out if a defensive driver discount is available and if you are eligible to receive that discount.

Step 2: Register

Select the START button on this website to begin the quick course registration process. The information you provide will be saved so you can start the course whenever you want, pause whenever you want, and complete the program whenever you want. Keep in mind that for ticket dismissal, you must complete the course and submit your certificate by a specific due date designated by the court.

Step 3: Finish

Enjoy the high-quality videos. Learn important road safety strategies to help you become a more confident driver. Complete the course and check your email for your completion certificate.

Step 4: Submit

You’re almost done! All you have left to do is submit your completion certificate to the court for ticket dismissal (plus a copy of your Texas driving record) or to your insurance agent for a defensive driving discount. It’s that easy.

Contact Your Insurance Agent

Defensive driving courses are popular with many insurance companies because they help create safer drivers, which can help prevent accidents. Ask your insurance agent about available discounts for completing the DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving program.

Pass the DriveSafe Online Texas Defensive Driving Course

Complete the online registration form to unlock all course features. One low price gives you access to full-screen videos, interactive exercises, practice quizzes, the final exam plus the course completion certificate.

Get Your Texas Defensive Driver Completion Certificate

Your defensive driver course completion certification is available by email immediately after you complete the course. You also have the option to send the completion certificate directly to your insurance agent who can begin processing your new insurance discount.

How long does the course take to complete?

The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations (TDLR) requires online defensive driving courses to last at least 6 hours. We’ve included interesting video content with several interactive exercises and built-in breaks. Your time in the course will speed by and you’ll be done before you know it. We cover the content you need to know based on Texas requirements. No more and no less.

Do I have to review all course content at once?

No. You can watch a little bit here and a little bit there, whenever you have time in your schedule. We also included intelligent bookmarking so you can stop and restart the course as many times as needed without losing your progress.

Do I need to visit a classroom?

No. Our course is 100% online. Feel free to slip into your favorite PJ’s and log in from the safety and comfort of your own couch.

Do I need to pay extra for my completion certificate?

Absolutely not. Unlike other online driver improvement courses that surprise you with additional charges for audio options, video content, and even the completion certificate that you earned, DriveSafe Online has no hidden fees.

One low registration price includes access to ALL course content, including videos, interactive exercises, practice quizzes, and your course completion certificate.

Can I take defensive driving online in Texas?

Are you looking for a discount on your auto insurance, or just want to brush up on your driving skills? If you’re looking at defensive driving classes for the Lone Star State, you have a lot of options.

There are in person classes, online courses, and approaches that blend the two. But if you’re looking for the most efficient and cost-effective method, it’s the DriveSafe Online Texas Defensive Driving course. Check with your insurance agent to confirm that you’re eligible for a defensive driving discount before registering.

What is the best online defensive driving course to take in Texas?

There’s no substitute for expertise. Nobody wants to learn a skill from someone with no experience, and at Drivesafe Online we know our customers are no exception. That’s why we bring you 25 years of training experience with top companies across a variety of industries. We have award-winning content creators bringing you the best instruction you’ll find anywhere.

And once you get into our course, you’ll find animations, graphics, drone footage, interactive scenarios, and more to keep you engaged and focused. Our cinematic approach will make learning seem more like an afternoon at a movie. And with a 99% pass rate for first attempts, you can rest assured that the DriveSafe Online Texas defensive driving course is the best driver improvement course in the Lone Star State.

How long is the Texas online defensive driving course?

Here in Texas, we know the value of time. We grumble about sitting for hours in an I-35 traffic jam, and we know how precious a minute can be when it comes to a football game under Friday night lights.

The good news is that you can take the DriveSafe Online defensive driving course in less time than it takes you to drive from one side of Texas to the other. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations sets the minimum time for our course at 6 hours. Our innovative bookmarking allows you to break that up into multiple sessions, or you can zoom through in one shot if your schedule allows.

How do I take a Texas defensive driving course online?

Gone are the days where taking a course meant a long drive to a faraway location, finding a classroom, hoping for a good instructor, and trying to stay focused while sitting in one spot for hours on end. DriveSafe Online lets you take courses at home or on the go, using a desktop, laptop, tablet – or even your phone!

Simply go to our website, drivesafeonline.org select your state; and register online by paying the one low fee. That’s it! We won’t ask you for any additional fees for any reason. You’ll get access to your course and you can take it on your own time, as your schedule allows. Easy as pie!

How many times can you take a defensive driving course for an insurance discount in Texas?

If you’re looking to save a little money – and who isn’t these days – you should consider taking an online defensive driving course. These courses can make you eligible for a discount on your auto insurance premium. Since Texas drivers pay an average of $1823 per year for full coverage insurance, even a 5-10% discount can go a long way.

If your insurer offers a discount for completion of the DriveSafe Online Texas defensive driving course, the discount will be valid for three years. Only one defensive driving discount can be in effect at a time. At the end of three years, you can retake the course to continue your discount. There is no limit to how many times you can take the course for a discount.

DriveSafe Online Named “Best Overall Online Defensive Driving Course” by Investopedia

We’d like to honk our own horn for a moment because we’re excited to receive some great news. DriveSafe Online has been named “Best Overall Online Defensive Driving Course” by Investopedia, a leading source of business and financial information. The website is a...

The Harsh Realities of Drinking and Driving in Texas: Know the Dangers and Consequences

The state of Texas takes a stern stance against drinking and driving, recognizing the severe risks it poses not only to the person behind the wheel but also to the lives of others on the road. Beyond the immediate threat to safety, the legal consequences of driving...

The Perils of Potholes: State Links to Report a Pothole

As drivers navigate the roads, one persistent menace stands ready to wreak havoc on vehicles – potholes. These seemingly innocent craters on the asphalt can pose serious dangers to both drivers and their vehicles. In this article, we'll explore the risks associated...

What is the Safest Day of the Week to Drive?

Driving safety is a paramount concern for motorists, and various factors contribute to the overall safety of our roads. While there is no foolproof method to predict every aspect of traffic conditions, studies suggest that certain days of the week may be associated...

25 Years of Training Experience

DriveSafe Online® defensive driving courses are developed by the same award-winning eLearning team trusted by top companies around the world to train millions of people. 

Some of our clients and partners include Oracle, Hyatt, Cessna, Kellogg’s, PepsiCo and Georgia-Pacific. We have been creating online courses since 1994. In fact, we helped develop many innovative standards you see in online courses today. 

Simply put, we know what it takes to create online courses that are interesting, fun to take and actually help you learn.

Our work has earned multiple awards for:

  •   Best content
  •   Best advance in technology
  •   Best innovation

Now our team is focused on revolutionizing online driver education.

DriveSafe Online courses merge unique graphics and animations, interactive scenarios with narrated stories and video demonstrations—including in-car and drone footage—to deliver safe driving information like no other online defensive driving course available today.

Our mission is to develop a better way to help you:

  •   Save money on your auto insurance
  •   Meet court-ordered driver improvement plans
  •   Dismiss traffic tickets or reduce points
  •   Reinforce your driver road knowledge
  •   Become a safer driver

The way we see it, we all share the same streets and highways. If we each take the time to do our part to understand driving laws and regulations, improve our driving performance, and be courteous to other drivers, the roads will be safer for everyone to enjoy. 

Drive smart. Drive confident. And always, DriveSafe.

Your Road to Savings

Defensive driver education can reduce your insurance premium up to 10%. Are you ready to save money?