UTAH ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL & DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSES
Save on Auto Insurance. No Hidden Fees. Risk-Free Guarantee!
Click START to begin the best driver improvement courses in Utah
Most drivers use the 1-hour version to get their defensive driving discount
Choose the 6-hour version to meet specific insurance or court requirements
Check with your agent – you may be eligible for a discount on your insurance premium upon completing the course.
Certificate of Completion
Your customized certificate is emailed immediately after completing the course. Keep a digital copy for your records.
No Hidden Fees
One low, all-inclusive price gets you everything you need, including a certificate of completion.
If you take our course for a defensive driving discount and don’t receive one, we’ll refund your fee.
Our Utah Online Traffic School Courses Feature:
- High-quality video and animation with closed captions
- Practice quizzes to prepare for final exam
- Easy bookmarking lets you pick up where you left off
- Live chat with customer service if you have questions
- Certificate available immediately upon completion
- Only $24.95 with no hidden fees
No Course Timers Means You’re in Control
Need to brush up on your knowledge of traffic laws and rules of the road? Hoping for some new defensive driving tips? Or maybe you’re looking to save on your car insurance or avoid points being added to your driving record. Whatever your reason, you need a course that’s quick, easy, and effective.
We know you don’t have time to waste, so we’re bringing you the information you need most. It’s packaged so that you can get the most critical information in an efficient manner. No course timers to slow your progress. Our course is the shortest in Utah, so we’ll get you through the learning and back on the road in no time flat.
Experience What Online Learning Was Meant to Be
We’ve merged technology and learning to create a brand new experience designed for maximum engagement. Instead of just reading text in a book or on a screen, you’ll enjoy realistic scenarios that examine how to respond in hazardous situations – without the risk!
But wait, there’s more! Our easy navigation lets you start and stop whenever you need to, and built-in content breaks ensure that you don’t repeat content. Plus, our online driver education courses are easy to use on any device. You can switch between devices at any time.
DriveSafe Online’s Utah Defensive Driving Courses can save you hundreds of dollars on your auto insurance. The savings last for three years once you complete the course.
Can you afford to wait?
Our online defensive driving course uses animated graphics, which highlight key learning points and make sure you stay engaged in the learning experience.
Whether you’re on a laptop, tablet, or mobile phone, you’ll enjoy full-screen, high-quality video that utilizes in-car and drone footage. No tiny images or picture-in-picture in our defensive driving classes!
As soon as you complete our defensive driving program, you’ll receive a certificate of completion emailed to you. You can then provide the certificate to your insurance agent to receive your insurance discount if you qualify.
Or, if allowed, you can submit the certificate to the court for ticket dismissal to avoid adding points to your driving record. Quick. Easy. Effective. Just be sure to check with your court contact to make sure online defensive courses are allowed and that you are eligible to complete one.
You Can Count on Our Money-Back Guarantee
We want to earn your business, and we want you to tell your friends about our great Utah traffic school course. That’s why we offer a money-back guarantee. If you take our course for a defensive driving discount but don’t receive one from your insurance provider, we’ll refund your registration cost.
Our Utah Online Driver Traffic School Offers These Benefits:
- Save money on car insurance
- Some courts allow ticket dismissal for taking a defensive driving course
- Easy to pass–99% passing rate on first attempt
- 24/7 access from anywhere
- Affordably priced at only $24.95
Frequently Asked Questions
Obtaining a Utah Insurance Discount
Follow these easy steps to obtain a Utah insurance discount:
Contact your auto insurance company
Ask your agent if you are eligible for a discount on your car insurance after passing the DriveSafe Online Utah Defensive Driving course. Your agent will let you know if the insurance company offers a discount, and how much you could save on insurance premiums after taking our course.
Take the DriveSafe Online Utah Defensive Driving Course
Registration for our course is straightforward and simple! Once you’re registered, you can take the course as time allows. Use a laptop, tablet, or even your cell phone! As soon as you successfully complete the course, you’ll receive a certificate of completion by email.
Submit your certificate to your agent
Once you receive your completion certificate, print it, and submit to your insurance agent as proof that you passed the course. Or you can have your certificate emailed straight to your agent for even faster service! Start saving today!
Utah New Drivers
New drivers in Utah who are 15 years of age or older are eligible to apply for a learner’s permit. Applicants must pass a vision screening and a 50-question knowledge test based on the Utah Driver Handbook. Applicants must submit proof of identity and residence, pay the applicable fee, and have a parent or guardian sign a statement of financial responsibility if the applicant is 17 years of age or under. A learner’s permit allows the driver to operate a motor vehicle when accompanied by a parent, guardian, or approved driving instructor.
Applicants who are 15, 16, or 17 years old must hold a learner’s permit for at least six months before applying for a standard driver’s license. However, applicants who turn 18 during the six-month period may apply for a driver’s license immediately.
If the holder of a learner’s permit is 18 years or older, the accompanying driver can be any licensed driver over the age of 21.
Drivers under the age of 19 with a learner’s permit must complete an approved driver education class before applying for a driver’s license. Those 19 and over who hold a learner’s permit have two options for advancing to a regular driver’s license: 1) hold the learner’s permit for 90 days and complete 40 hours of practice driving, with 10 of those hours at night, or 2) complete an approved driver education course.
Additional information on Utah driver’s license requirements, including restrictions for minor drivers, can be found on the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) website.
Utah License Renewal
Drivers with a current Utah license will receive a renewal notice by mail about 90 days before their license expires. If you are eligible to renew online, the letter will include a PIN that you will need to use to access the online renewal system.
In-person renewals can be completed by scheduling an appointment online. At your appointment, your photo will be taken and you will be given a vision screening. Proof of address will be required if you have moved since your license was previously issued; a list of acceptable documentation can be found here.
An open-book knowledge exam will be given if you have had more than four citations in eight years, have had your license suspended or revoked, or your Utah driver license has been expired for more than six months. Utah driver’s licenses can be renewed up to six months prior to expiration, and they are valid for eight years.
Utah REAL ID
REAL ID is a federal program that was created in response to the terror attacks of September 11th with a goal of increased safety and security. Utah identification cards, including driver’s licenses, are transitioning to be REAL ID compliant. If your license is renewed prior to October 1st, 2021, you will automatically receive a REAL ID. REAL IDs look similar to Utah driver’s licenses, with the addition of a gold star in the upper right-hand corner.
If your license is not REAL ID compliant, and you are not due for renewal prior to October 1st, you will receive a complimentary REAL ID license in the mail. This ID will have the same expiration date as your current license.
According to Utah state law, points are assigned to an individual’s driving record for each traffic violation that is cited. Points can have a negative impact on insurance premiums and can also lead to driving privileges being suspended or revoked.
However, drivers in Utah may be allowed by the court overseeing the jurisdiction in which you received a traffic ticket to take an online traffic school course. Completion of the course can result in the removal of up to 50 points from your driving record. The course can also choose to lower fines that you owe for your violation upon completion of the driving course.
Be sure to check with the appropriate Utah court to verify whether taking our course can reduce or remove points from your driving record or result in traffic ticket dismissal.
25 Years of Training Experience
DriveSafe Online® defensive driving courses are developed by the same award-winning eLearning team trusted by top companies around the world to train millions of people.
Some of our clients and partners include Oracle, Hyatt, Cessna, Kellogg’s, PepsiCo and Georgia-Pacific. We have been creating online courses since 1994. In fact, we helped develop many innovative standards you see in online courses today.
Simply put, we know what it takes to create online courses that are interesting, fun to take and actually help you learn.
Our work has earned multiple awards for:
- Best content
- Best advance in technology
- Best innovation
Now our team is focused on revolutionizing online driver education.
DriveSafe Online courses merge unique graphics and animations, interactive scenarios with narrated stories and video demonstrations—including in-car and drone footage—to deliver safe driving information like no other online defensive driving course available today.
Our mission is to develop a better way to help you:
- Save money on your auto insurance
- Meet court-ordered driver improvement plans
- Dismiss traffic tickets or reduce points
- Reinforce your driver road knowledge
- Become a safer driver
The way we see it, we all share the same streets and highways. If we each take the time to do our part to understand driving laws and regulations, improve our driving performance, and be courteous to other drivers, the roads will be safer for everyone to enjoy.
Drive smart. Drive confident. And always, DriveSafe.