VIRGINIA ONLINE DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSES
Insurance Discount. Full-Screen Video. Money-Back Guarantee.
Click START to begin the best defensive driving courses in Virginia
Most drivers use the 1-hour version to get their defensive driving discount
Choose the 6-hour version to meet specific insurance or court requirements
Complete the course to get a certificate of completion that may save you money on your auto insurance premiums! Ask your insurance agent to see if you qualify.
No Hidden Fees
Your customized certificate is emailed immediately after completing the course. Keep a digital copy for your records.
Our mobile-friendly course is easy to use, no matter where you are! Our engaging content is available to you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!
Take the course for an insurance discount. If your insurance provider fails to accept our certificate, you’ll get your money back. Guaranteed.
Our Virginia Driver Improvement Courses Feature:
- Mobile-friendly access
- Simple layout and convenient bookmarking
- Innovative scenarios that put you in the driver’s seat
- Closed captioning and fully narrated video
- Only $24.95 without any hidden fees
Who Should Take the Virginia Defensive Driving Course?
The Virginia Defensive Driving Course can benefit you if you fall into one of these categories:
- You’ve been court-ordered to take a Driver Improvement Course, perhaps as a result of a traffic ticket conviction.
- You want to save on your car insurance. Check with your insurer for details on how much you could save.
- You want to refresh your road knowledge and improve your driving skills.
- You want to prepare for the DMV written test
Choose the Shortest Defensive Driving Course in Virginia
Our Virginia driving course is based on national driving standards enforced by the Virginia Commonwealth. This information is designed to help you become a safer driver as you navigate the roads and highways of the Old Dominion.
Update your knowledge of traffic laws and regulations and learn new techniques for defensive driving. Our efficient approach to defensive driving will get you back on the road with your newfound knowledge sooner rather than later.
Enjoy a New Approach to Online Learning
If you’re looking for textbook-style learning, you’ll need to look elsewhere. The DriveSafe Online experience immerses you in real-world scenarios using high-quality graphics and animations, including in-car video to put you right in the middle of the action. Our drone footage even gives you a birds-eye view of traffic patterns and helps you understand the safest responses to driving incidents.
You’ll be able to practice your decision-making skills in high-risk situations—without the risk to you or others. Our approach to online learning will maximize the time you spend with our course, so you walk away a smarter, safer driver.
DriveSafe Online’s Virginia Defensive Driving Courses can save you hundreds of dollars on your auto insurance. The savings last for three years once you complete the course.
Can you afford to wait?
We make learning interesting with our cinematic-quality videos. Our Virginia courses utilize full-screen video. See big, clear video whether you’re taking our courses on a laptop, tablet, or mobile phone.
Tired of courses that deliver boring statistics in small fonts that make your eyes go blurry? Our animated graphics will highlight important information in fun and engaging ways, making sure you’re prepared to pass the course.
Our Online Virginia Driver Traffic School Offers These Benefits:
- Practice quizzes to prepare for the final exam
- Live chat to assist you with your questions
- 99% passing rate on first attempt
- Car insurance reduction if you qualify
- Certificate of completion emailed immediately after successful completion
- Get the best online defensive driving course in Virginia for only $24.95
Frequently Asked Questions
Virginia Insurance Discount
Before registering to take the DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving course, we suggest you contact your auto insurance agent to discuss your potential insurance discount. Discounts vary among insurers, so it’s best to confirm your eligibility for a discount with your agent prior to taking the course.
After passing the DriveSafe Virginia Defensive Driving course, you will receive a completion certificate. You can email the certificate to your insurance agent as proof that you passed the course, or even have the certificate emailed directly to them. You can also print a hard copy of your completion certificate. Your agent will use the certificate to confirm your eligibility for an insurance discount.
Virginia’s Driver Point System
Drivers in Virginia are assigned points that fall into one of two categories: safe driving points and demerits.
Safe driving points are awarded in April of each year to those drivers who did not have any violations or suspensions in the previous calendar years. Drivers can earn one safe driving point each April, and they may earn up to five points over five years.
Demerit points are assigned to drivers who are convicted of a traffic violation. These points remain on a driver’s record for two years from the date of the violation. A full list of violations and the demerit points awarded can be found online.
Drivers can view their points balance by visiting the Virginia DMVNow website.
Virginia DMV Information
Many of the services provided by the Virginia DMV are available online through the Virginia DMV2Go website. The website includes the Virginia Driver’s Manual, which is available as an interactive study guide. This study guide contains practice questions designed to prepare applicants for the Traffic Signs and General Knowledge tests.
The Driver’s Manual is also available online in PDF and audio formats, and hard copies are available at Virginia customer service centers. Locate a customer service center through the Virginia DMV locator.
Getting a Virginia Driver License
If you are at least 15 years and 6 months of age, and you have never held a driver’s license in any state, you are eligible to apply for a Virginia learner’s permit. You will be required to take a vision screening and complete a two-part exam, and you will need to pay the applicable fees for both your permit and your license.
Once you are granted a learner’s permit, you will be able to operate a motor vehicle when a driver over 21, or a driver over 18 if they are your legal guardian, sibling, half-sibling, or step-sibling, is in the passenger seat.
At the age of 16 years and 3 months, if you have completed a Virginia-approved driver’s education course, you will be able to drive with your learner’s permit without a licensed driver beside you, if you have held your learner’s permit for at least 9 months and your parent or legal guardian certifies that you have practiced driving for at least 45 hours.
If you are 18 years or older, you will need to hold a Virginia learner’s permit for 60 days or show completion of a state-approved driver’s education course in order to advance to a standard driver’s license.
More information about learner’s permits and standard licenses can be found on the Virginia DMV website.
Virginia License Renewal
Although you always have the option of renewing a Virginia driver’s license in person, every other cycle you will have the opportunity to renew online or by mail. You will receive a renewal notice by mail, which will indicate the options available to you during that cycle.
You can locate a customer service center for in-person renewal using the Virginia DMV locator. Identify the documents you need to provide for your license renewal using this tool.
Virginia REAL ID
If you plan to use your driver’s license as proof of identity for boarding domestic flights or accessing federal facilities, such as military bases, in the near future, you will need to ensure that you have a REAL ID.
To obtain a REAL ID, more substantial proof of identity than standard Virginia driver’s licenses is required. For example, you must show your social security card in addition to other documents to prove your identity and residency.
As a Virginia resident, a REAL ID is optional, but you will not be able to use your standard, non-REAL ID compliant license as proof of identity for boarding domestic flights or accessing secure federal facilities.
View the document guide for a full list of proof of identity documentation for REAL ID. You can begin your application online, but you will need to present the application and your proof of identity in person to convert an existing driver’s license to a REAL ID.
25 Years of Training Experience
DriveSafe Online® defensive driving courses are developed by the same award-winning eLearning team trusted by top companies around the world to train millions of people.
Some of our clients and partners include Oracle, Hyatt, Cessna, Kellogg’s, PepsiCo and Georgia-Pacific. We have been creating online courses since 1994. In fact, we helped develop many innovative standards you see in online courses today.
Simply put, we know what it takes to create online courses that are interesting, fun to take and actually help you learn.
Our work has earned multiple awards for:
- Best content
- Best advance in technology
- Best innovation
Now our team is focused on revolutionizing online driver education.
DriveSafe Online courses merge unique graphics and animations, interactive scenarios with narrated stories and video demonstrations—including in-car and drone footage—to deliver safe driving information like no other online defensive driving course available today.
Our mission is to develop a better way to help you:
- Save money on your auto insurance
- Meet court-ordered driver improvement plans
- Dismiss traffic tickets or reduce points
- Reinforce your driver road knowledge
- Become a safer driver
The way we see it, we all share the same streets and highways. If we each take the time to do our part to understand driving laws and regulations, improve our driving performance, and be courteous to other drivers, the roads will be safer for everyone to enjoy.
Drive smart. Drive confident. And always, DriveSafe.