Louisiana Online Defensive Driving Course
DriveSafeLA—Louisiana’s BEST State-Approved 1-hour Online Defensive Driving Course
Easy, Full-Screen Video & No Hidden Fees with a Money-Back Guarantee!
Click “Start” to save on your car insurance in Louisiana
1-HOUR COURSE Only $2499
Curso de Manejo Defensivo en Español
No Hidden Fees
Never had them. Never will. Our simple pricing means you get access to the full video course and completion certificate for one low price.
No Course Timers
Forget the digital speed bumps. You control your own pace through the course.
You’re mobile and so is our course. Enjoy the most engaging online defensive driving course on your favorite tablet anytime, anywhere.
Money Back Guarantee
No risk. We promise your money back if you’re unable to save on your auto insurance with our course completion certificate.
Our Louisiana Defensive Driving Course Features:
- No course timers
- 100% online and mobile friendly
- May qualify for ticket dismissal if allowed by your court
- Fully narrated video and animation with closed captioning
- Certificates available after course completion
- Money-back guarantee
- Only $24.99 with NO hidden fees
Complete Louisiana Defensive Driving Course in Shortest Time Allowed
No course timers means you control your own pace through the course. You decide when to accelerate and when to brake. Without restrictions, you can complete the entire defensive driving program in the shortest amount of time allowed by Louisiana law.
And to make it even faster and easier to use, you can take the course whenever and wherever you want. The DriveSafeLA Online Defensive Driving Course is mobile friendly. Start on your home computer and finish on your tablet when your schedule permits. No need to skip the Mudbug Madness Festival, a New Orleans Saints touchdown or a catfish dinner in Franklin Parish. The course remembers where you left off so you can start and stop the course as often as you want.
Enjoy the Most Engaging Online Driver Improvement Program in Louisiana
The DriveSafeLA Defensive Driving course is Louisiana’s first state approved online driving course. And it continues to be the state’s best program as well. The course is based on the latest Louisiana department driver’s manual. Program content is broken into short chapters to make the material interesting and easy to navigate.
Forget reading pages of text or watching movies the size of a postage stamp. The DriveSafeLA accident prevention course features full-screen video for easy viewing. First-person in-car video and birds’ eye drone footage explore driving situations from multiple angles to offer unique perspectives. And focused quiz questions reinforce Louisiana laws and regulations to help you pass and receive certification of completion.
Did you know?
The average insurance savings for Louisiana drivers who take our course is more than $200.00 per year and $600.00 over three years.
Curso de Manejo Defensivo en Español
Take Advantage of Louisiana Driver Money-Back Guarantee
There’s absolutely no risk to you. We think our course is the best driver improvement course available online. In fact, we’re so sure that you will like it as much as we do, we’ll make you a tempting offer. If you take our course for the purpose of receiving a discount on your auto insurance, and the DriveSafeLA completion certificate does not save you money, we’ll refund your payment.
Get up to 10% off your annual auto insurance premium when you complete the defensive driving program. Your insurance company must operate in Louisiana and offer a defensive driver discount as specified in rate filings with the Commissioner of Insurance. Check with your insurance agent for details.
This money-back offer is good only for insurance savings. If you take the defensive driving course to dismiss a ticket, contact parish authorities for approval before registering for the course.
Enjoy the Benefits of the Best Louisiana Defensive Driving Course Including:
- Insurance discount qualification up to 10% per year for 3 consecutive years
- Ticket dismissal to keep your driving record clean
- Refreshed and improved road knowledge
- Easy to complete with a 100% course passing rate
- Satisfaction assured with dedicated customer service
- Approved by the State of Louisiana in accordance with the Louisiana Revised Statutes 22:1404 (redesignated r.s. 22:1457)
Frequently Asked Questions
- Louisiana Insurance Discount
- Louisiana Ticket Dismissal
- Drivesafe Online Louisiana
- Louisiana OMV Info
- Louisiana Driver's License
How to get your defensive driver insurance discount in Louisiana:
- Call Your Insurance Agent
Online Louisiana traffic school courses help drivers learn how to stay safe on the road. Safer drivers typically mean fewer accidents. And fewer accidents save insurance companies money because they have fewer claims to process. Contact your insurance agent to learn about available discounts you can earn by completing an approved online Louisiana defensive driving course.
- Complete the Louisiana DriveSafeLA Defensive Driving Course
We made the onramp to safer driving stress-free and convenient. Simply click “Start” to register and then take the course. It’s that easy. One price gives you access to all course features including multimedia, practice quizzes and final assessment and the course completion certificate.
- Receive Your Louisiana Defensive Driver Completion Certificate
Immediately after you successfully complete the final exam you will receive your DriveSafeLA course completion certificate, which is approved by the Louisiana Commissioner of Insurance. No waiting and no extra fees required. The certificate will be sent to any email address you specify. You may even send a copy of the certificate to your insurance agent to begin preparing your auto insurance discount.
How much can I save on my car insurance?
Louisiana is the second most expensive state for car insurance. While the national average for insurance premiums is $1,457, the average for drivers in Louisiana is $2,298. Many insurance providers offer discounts up to 10% for qualified drivers, which can add up to big savings.
A 10% discount can average more than $200 per year / $600 over three years per driver in Louisiana. There’s never been a better time to lower your insurance while learning how to become a safer driver.
Can I get my Louisiana traffic ticket dismissed?
Yes! While options for ticket dismissal vary between jurisdictions throughout the state, opportunities to keep a ticket off your driving record do exist. Be sure to contact your parish to get the fine amount, court costs and any other surcharges.
To dismiss a traffic ticket, ask the appropriate clerk or pre-trial director in the court where the ticket was issued if the court allows online courses for ticket dismissals.
Do Louisiana courts allow defensive driving?
Yes. Many Louisiana courts allow state-approved courses as an option for drivers who are seeking to dismiss a ticket. Both in-person and online driver improvement classes are available to eligible Louisiana drivers.
DriveSafeLA is Louisiana’s first state-approved online driving course. Drivers throughout Louisiana have relied on our course for years. Be sure to confirm that your court will accept our certificate of completion prior to enrollment. This ensures that your driving record stays clean and your insurance rates stay low.
Can I take defensive driving for a speeding ticket in Louisiana?
Yes, but first you will need to contact your court to request permission for ticket dismissal with a defensive driving course. Once approved, be sure to complete the course by the deadline set by the court and provide them with your certificate of completion. After they process your course completion, check your driving record to confirm that the ticket has been removed.
The judge overseeing your case may approve the DriveSafeLA Defensive Driving course as an option after you have received a speeding ticket. Successful completion of the course could result in having your ticket dismissed.
How much over the speed limit is reckless driving in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, reckless driving is defined as operating a vehicle in a “criminally negligent or reckless manner.” This type of driving is considered a criminal misdemeanor in the state of Louisiana. Driving in excess of the posted speed limit by 15 mph or more is considered reckless driving. Our DriveSafeLA course will teach you how to navigate Louisiana roads safely and avoid these types of penalties.
How do I clear my driving record in Louisiana?
Louisiana residents may be able to avoid infractions appearing on their driving record by taking the state-approved DriveSafeLA Defensive Driving course.
Since options to clear your driving record vary across the state of Louisiana, start by contacting your court clerk or pre-trial director in the court where you received your ticket to get the fine amount, court costs, and any other fees. Then, request permission to take our course to help clear your driving record.
After permission is granted, register and complete the course, pass the assessment and return your course completion certificate to the court.
Do I have to go to court if I take defensive driving?
The DriveSafeLA online course can be taken at any location, on any device. However, you may need to appear in court to request permission to take the course for ticket dismissal. Contact the clerk or pre-trial director in the court where the ticket was issued to confirm whether you need to appear in person.
Once you have permission from the court to take the DriveSaveLA Defensive Driving course for ticket dismissal:
- Register and complete the course
- Pass the assessment and print your completion certificate
- Return your certificate to the courthouse as instructed by the court
Louisiana Driver’s License Point System
Louisiana does not use a driver point system. However, the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) does monitor driver performance including the types and frequency of traffic violations committed.
Your driver’s license could be suspended or revoked for the following reasons:
- Too many moving violations
- Reckless driving
- Texting while driving
- Failure to stop for school bus loading/unloading students
Traffic convictions are typically saved on your driving record for 3-5 years from the time of conviction. More serious violations, such as DWI, remain on your record for at least 10 years.
You may purchase a copy of your Official Driving Record (ODR) from the Louisiana OMV.
How long is the Louisiana defensive driving course online?
Some Louisiana driver improvement courses can take as long as six hours to complete. In-person classes may take even longer.
You can complete the DriveSafeLA course in only 1 hour (or less)! Our course does not have any timers to slow you down. Our DriveSafeLA course, state-approved by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, is the shortest course allowed by Louisiana law. You can cruise through at a pace that’s comfortable for you and even stop and continue at a later date since the course saves your progress.
How long does it take to get a defensive driving certificate?
Other courses may take weeks to mail you a completion certificate, but with DriveSafeLA there’s no waiting. After successfully completing the DriveSafeLA assessment in your state-approved online course, you will immediately receive a certificate of completion via email. You can share this certificate with your insurance agent or court electronically or print out copies as needed.
Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV)
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) is the official DMV office for the state. Contact OMV representatives for questions about driver’s license issuance, renewal and status. You may also purchase a copy of your Official Driving Record through the OMV.
Find the Nearest Louisiana DMV Office
The Office of Motor Vehicles has offices throughout Louisiana. Visit the Louisiana OMV website to find the office closet to you. Choose your Parish to access the phone number, address, hours of operation and services available at each office. It’s smart to review this information to help you plan your visit.
Documents to Take to the Louisiana OMV
If you’re applying for a driver’s license, replacing a lost license or need to make changes to your existing information (for example, if you recently moved), you must visit an OMV office in person with documents to prove your identity.
Acceptable documents may include a combination of the following:
- Original/certified copy of birth certificate
- Social Security card
- Payroll stub
- W-2 forms for 2-years
- Vehicle insurance policy
- Utility bills with current address
The specific documents you need to show will depend on your situation. For instance, documents needed by first time applicants will most likely be different than those required for out-of-state transfer applicants.
Review the complete list of OMV identification requirements to know exactly which documents you need.
Graduated Licensing Program
Louisiana follows a graduated licensing program. The plan is designed to allow young drivers the opportunity to gain driving experience during lower risk situations.
The Graduated Licensing Program has three stages:
Stage 1: Learner’s Permit
- Minimum 15 years of age
- Complete classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction
- Pass vision and knowledge exams
- Must hold learner’s permit for at least 180 days
Stage 2: Intermediate License
- Complete Stage 1
- Minimum 16 years of age
- Pass road skills driving test
- Must hold intermediate license until 17th birthday
Stage 3: Full License (CLASS E)
- Complete Stages 1 and 2
- Or must be at least 17 years of age when applying for first license
- Applicants 18 and older who have not started the Graduated Licensing program may be able to skip Stages 1 and 2. Contact the Louisiana OMV for more information.
Louisiana Driver’s Licenses
Each person who operates a vehicle in Louisiana must have at least one of these designated types of driver’s license:
CLASS E – personal license
CLASS D – chauffeur license
CLASSES A, B, and C – commercial vehicle license
Getting a Class E Driver’s License
CLASS E is the most popular type of driver’s license. Keep in mind that CLASS E licenses expire on your birthday 6 years after date it is issued.
Review the complete list of Louisiana OMV requirements for more information about required tests, identification documents and fees for getting your Louisiana Driver’s license.
How can I access the Louisiana Driver’s Manual?
Whether you are a new or experienced driver, passing the written DMV test is an important step toward securing your license. The Louisiana Driver’s Guide is an excellent study resource. It has all the information you need to help you pass the written test.
25 Years of Training Experience
DriveSafe Online® defensive driving courses are developed by the same award-winning eLearning team trusted by top companies around the world to train hundreds of thousands of people.
Some of our clients and partners include Oracle, Hyatt, Cessna, Kellogg’s, PepsiCo and Georgia-Pacific. We have been creating online courses since 1994. In fact, we helped develop many innovative standards you see in online courses today.
Simply put, we know what it takes to create online courses that are interesting, fun to take and actually help you learn.
Our work has earned multiple awards for:
- Best content
- Best advance in technology
- Best innovation
Now our team is focused on revolutionizing online driver education.
DriveSafe Online courses merge unique graphics and animations, interactive scenarios with narrated stories and video demonstrations—including in-car and drone footage—to deliver safe driving information like no other online defensive driving course available today.
Our mission is to develop a better way to help you:
- Save money on your auto insurance
- Meet court-ordered driver improvement plans
- Dismiss traffic tickets or reduce points
- Reinforce your driver road knowledge
- Become a safer driver
The way we see it, we all share the same streets and highways. If we each take the time to do our part to understand driving laws and regulations, improve our driving performance, and be courteous to other drivers, the roads will be safer for everyone to enjoy.
Drive smart. Drive confident. And always, DriveSafe.