NORTH CAROLINA TRAFFIC SCHOOL & ONLINE DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSES
Easy to Pass. Insurance Discount / Dismiss a Ticket. Full-Screen Video.
Click START to begin the best driver improvement courses in North Carolina
Most drivers use the 1-hour version to get their auto insurance discount
Choose the 4-hour course if required by your court or insurance company
Choose this version if your court requires an 8-hour course
No Hidden Fees
Certificate of Completion
Our North Carolina Defensive Driving Courses & Traffic School Features:
- 90 days to complete the course – take breaks as needed
- May qualify for ticket dismissal if allowed by your court
- Extremely high success rate – 99% of users pass on first try
- Immediate digital certificate – sent upon course completion
- Insurance savings – money-back guarantee
- Responsive customer service – we’re here to help you
- Only $24.95 without any hidden fees
Self-Paced Traffic School
The DriveSafe Online North Carolina Defensive Driving Courses give you options. You set the pace, not some annoying timer. You’re busy. Take pit stops or zip right to the finish line. We make it easy for you to do what works for your busy life.
DriveSafe Online safe driving courses have built-in content breaks. This means that you will grasp information better. Why? Because we suggest breaks between major ideas rather than in the middle of them.
Our courses are designed for all of your devices. Enjoy our full-screen videos on your desktop, laptop, tablet, or phone. Talk about convenience!
Enjoy the Best Online Traffic School in North Carolina
We engineered the DriveSafe Online North Carolina defensive driving course with you in mind.
Other online safe driving programs can be a real chore. Ours feels more like a pleasant breeze. We won’t waste your time with big walls of tiny text or hidden buttons. We make learning simple AND enjoyable.
Feast your eyes on our beautiful videos. We provide both in-car and drone footage. Captivating animations hold your focus on important information. Interactive scenarios make the information come to life. Straightforward navigation tools smooth your journey through important content. These engaging features reinforce your road knowledge to help you pass the final exam.
Often times our competitors charge extra for the certificate of completion. Many also charge you more for the audio and video features.
Our courses include engaging audio and video to help you succeed. Best of all, when you successfully complete the course, we send you the completion certificate for free! Saving money is the name of the game with DriveSafe Online.
DriveSafe Online’s North Carolina Defensive Driving Courses can save you hundreds of dollars on your auto insurance annually. The savings last for three years once you complete the course.
Can you afford to wait?
Take Advantage of Our North Carolina Money-Back Guarantee
We have every confidence that our defensive driving courses will satisfy your needs. That’s why DriveSafe Online offers a full money-back guarantee.
If your car insurance company fails to lower your rates with our certificate of completion, we will totally refund the price of your course. After all, you’re not here to gamble, you’re here to save money.
Check Out These North Carolina Online Traffic School Course Perks:
- Comfortable mobile-friendly design
- Closed captioning
- Animated graphics
- Narrated videos
- Engaging in-car and birds-eye view videos
- Refresher quizzes get you ready for the final exam
- Unlimited final exam attempts
- Smart bookmarking to save your progress
- Completion certificate – sent automatically
- Affordable price – $24.95–with no hidden fees
From Charlotte to Raleigh and from Greensboro to Durham… we have North Carolina covered!
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the fastest online traffic school or defensive driving course?
DriveSafe Online offers the fastest online defensive driving courses available in North Carolina. Most of our courses do not include course timers so you are free to control your own progress through the content.
How much does 2 points affect insurance in NC?
A moving violation that adds 2 points to your driving record can increase your auto insurance by as much as 45%. According to the North Carolina Department of Insurance, if your basic rate is $300, you can expect your payment to jump to $435.
The North Carolina Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP) determines the point value for moving violations. You should expect to have 2 points added to your driving record if you are convicted of the following violations:
- Illegal passing
- Following too closely
- Driving on wrong side of the road
- At-fault accident resulting in total property damage
- Speeding 10mph over posted speed limit
How long do points stay on your license in NC?
In North Carolina, points for a moving violation typically remain on your driving record for three years. You may be eligible to avoid points being added to your license by completing a DriveSafe Online defensive driving course. Ask your lawyer or the court where your ticket was issued to see if you qualify and if our online driver improvement course will work for your situation.
Which violation carries the most points against your license?
Between 1 – 12 points can be added to your driving record based on the seriousness of the traffic violation. The North Carolina Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP) identifies the following violations as the most dangerous offenses:
- Manslaughter or negligent homicide
- Prearranged highway racing
- Hit and run resulting bodily injury or death
- Driving with a blood-alcohol level of .08 or more
- Driving while impaired
- Transporting illegal intoxicating liquor for sale
How often can you take the defensive driving course in NC?
How often you can take a DriveSafe Online defensive driving course depends on your reason for taking the course.
Insurance discount: Many insurance providers offer defensive driving discounts that last three years. So, to continue receiving your discount, you should retake the driver improvement program every third year.
Of course, you can take online driver training as often as you want if you simply want to refresh your driving knowledge and enhance your safe driving techniques. This is a smart option especially if you are a business owner and have multiple employees who perform driving tasks as part of their work routine. Investing in safe driver training up front can protect your company from huge bills later by teaching drivers to avoid accidents.
How many points is a speeding ticket in North Carolina?
The number of points added to your driving record in North Carolina depends on how fast you were driving.
1 point = Speeding 10 mph or less over the speed limit under 55 mph
2 points = Speeding more than 10 mph over the speed limit at a total speed of more than 55 mph and less than 76 mph
4 points = Speeding in excess of 70 mph when the speed limit is less than 70 mph
10 points = Speeding to elude arrest
Review the complete list of North Carolina speeding violations for more details.
How many miles over the speed limit is reckless driving in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, you can be cited for reckless driving if you are caught driving 15 mph or more over the posted speed limit—even if you remained in your lane and did not swerve. Speeding alone is enough to classify the action as reckless.
North Carolina Car Insurance Discount
How can I get an insurance discount?
1) Ask your insurance agent
Lower insurance premiums? Yes please! Many insurance providers reduce insurance costs for clients who successfully complete traffic safety courses. That’s because these courses yield safer drivers.
Safe drivers can save insurance companies money with fewer claims to process. Win-win!
Ask your agent if successfully completing the DriveSafe Online North Carolina Defensive Driving Course will lower your rates. Be sure to ask about course length requirements to earn your discount.
2) Finish the DriveSafe Online North Carolina Defensive Driving Course
Just register and log in. It’s easy! Then dive right in. Whether you like to work on a desktop computer, a laptop, a tablet, or a phone, you’re covered. Our dynamic design means you can pick your favorite device and hit the ground running.
Need a break? No problem. We always save your progress. You can pause and pick back up when you need to. Also, you get unlimited 24/7 access. We truly work with your busy schedule.
3) Give the completion certificate to your agent
You can choose to immediately send your electronic certificate of completion to your insurance agent when you pass the final exam. This fast and free service only makes sense. No need to pay more or wait longer for the certificate you’ve earned.
How much money will I save?
We love saving you time AND money. The amount you save depends on your policy. Ask your agent for more information.
What can you do with your savings? Take the family to Jungle Rapids? Or the NASCAR Hall of Fame? Or get some grub at your favorite BBQ joint? The possibilities are endless!
New Permits and Licenses
To apply for a learner permit or driver license, you must be at least 18 years old and report to a N.C. DMV with:
- Valid ID
- Proof of Social Security number
- Proof of residency or legal presence
- Proof of liability insurance (only required if seeking a license, not a permit)
You will be asked to complete road sign, knowledge, vision, and driving tests. It is wise to study the North Carolina Driver Handbook and complete a DriveSafe Online safe driving course in preparation for these tests.
Are you under 18? Check out the graduated licensing process to learn more about permits for teens between 15 and 17.
License Renewals and Replacements
If your license is lost or stolen, you should report it to the police. The simplest way to replace or renew a license is online. Some restrictions apply to this convenient service. You can also replace or renew in person at any N.C. DMV location.
North Carolina REAL ID
North Carolina DMVs are offering REAL IDs. You can visit any location with the required documents if you want this optional, federally approved identification.
REAL IDs are only mandatory to:
- Board a domestic flight
- Access a federal building
- Access a military facility
REAL IDs are NOT mandatory to:
- Go to a Post Office
- Receive federal benefits
North Carolina DMV
North Carolina is peppered with conveniently located DMV offices from Fort Bragg to Charlotte to Asheville. These offices can assist you whether you need to obtain a first time permit or license, renew or replace a license, or get a N.C. REAL ID enhancement for your license or ID.
Make sure you see the Office Visit Checklist to ensure that you bring all required documents. You can also search for the most convenient location near you.
Don’t want to wait? You can schedule an appointment with the DMV and skip the lines. Also, many services can be completed online. Check here for license and vehicle registration renewals and duplicate license orders.
DriveSafe Online courses are perfect for preparing for your driver’s license exam. In addition, our courses help you to be the safest driver you can be. This will keep you and others safe and help you to avoid an expensive traffic ticket.
Review the North Carolina Driver Handbook to make certain that you are clear on all driver requirements and state laws.
25 Years of Training Experience
DriveSafe Online® defensive driving courses are developed by the same award-winning eLearning team trusted by top companies around the world to train millions of people.
Some of our clients and partners include Oracle, Hyatt, Cessna, Kellogg’s, PepsiCo and Georgia-Pacific. We have been creating online courses since 1994. In fact, we helped develop many innovative standards you see in online courses today.
Simply put, we know what it takes to create online courses that are interesting, fun to take and actually help you learn.
Our work has earned multiple awards for:
- Best content
- Best advance in technology
- Best innovation
Now our team is focused on revolutionizing online driver education.
DriveSafe Online courses merge unique graphics and animations, interactive scenarios with narrated stories and video demonstrations—including in-car and drone footage—to deliver safe driving information like no other online defensive driving course available today.
Our mission is to develop a better way to help you:
- Save money on your auto insurance
- Meet court-ordered driver improvement plans
- Dismiss traffic tickets or reduce points
- Reinforce your driver road knowledge
- Become a safer driver
The way we see it, we all share the same streets and highways. If we each take the time to do our part to understand driving laws and regulations, improve our driving performance, and be courteous to other drivers, the roads will be safer for everyone to enjoy.
Drive smart. Drive confident. And always, DriveSafe.