If you receive a traffic violation in Dallas and have been instructed by the court to take a safe driver course, it’s important to know the steps to request and complete the course to meet the court’s requirements. Here is a step-by-step guide on how to request a safe driver course in Dallas:

Step 1: Determine your eligibility

Before requesting a safe driver course, you need to make sure you are eligible to take the course to meet your court requirements. In Dallas, eligibility requirements for a safe driver course vary depending on the type of traffic violation you received. Some violations may not be eligible for a safe driver course, so it’s important to check with the court to determine if you are eligible.

You are NOT eligible to take a driving safety course to dismiss a citation if you can answer “yes” to any of the following:

  • You were speeding 25 mph or more over the speed limit
  • You were driving 95 mph or more
  • Your violation occurred in a construction zone when workers were present
  • You passed a school bus while children were entering/exiting
  • You left the scene of an accident that caused damage
  • You completed a driver safety course within the past 12 months

Items you must have to request a driving safety course include:

  • A valid Texas driver’s license, permit, or proof of active duty military status
  • Proof of valid auto insurance

Step 2: Choose an approved course provider

Once you determine that you are eligible for a safe driver course, you need to choose an approved course provider. The course provider must be approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). Texas law also requires the course to be at least six hours in duration.

Step 3: Request the course

To ask permission from the court to take a driver safety course to address your moving violation, you must fill out a Verification of Contact Information Form. The document can be found HERE. The court will respond to your request by mail within 5-7 days. Be sure the mailing address you enter on the form is correct since this is the address the court will utilize.

Step 4: Complete the course

Once you receive permission from the court to take a safe driver course, it’s time to select the course. There are many online defensive driving courses available, but not all are equal. TDLR requires approved driver safety courses to be at least six hours in duration. For the most effective use of your time, choose a course that includes engaging videos, interactive exercises, quizzes, and a completion certificate.

After registering for your safe driver course, you need to complete it within the given timeframe. In Dallas, the court typically gives you 90 days to complete the course.

Step 5: Submit the certificate of completion

After completing the safe driver course, you need to submit the certificate of completion to the court to satisfy your court requirements. You must also submit a signed and notarized Driver Safety Course affidavit that states you have not completed a safe driver course within the past 12 months.

Keep in mind that in addition to your course completion certificate and affidavit, you must also submit a certified copy of your type 3A Texas driving record.


DriveSafe Online is TDLR Approved

The DriveSafe Online Texas Defensive Driving Course is Texas approved. For one price, you get access to all course features including full-screen video, interactive exercises, exam questions, intelligent bookmarking, online access from laptop, tablet, and mobile phone, plus the course completion certificate. Every feature and every benefit for the lowest price allowed by Texas law.

Requesting a safe driver course in Dallas to satisfy court requirements regarding a traffic violation is a simple process that can be completed by following these steps. Remember to check your eligibility, choose an approved course provider, request the course, complete the course, and submit the certificate of completion to the court to ensure that your court requirements are met.