Going a bit too fast on I-40 between Memphis and Nashville? Running late for an appointment in Knoxville? Enjoying the open road too quickly on the Cherohala Skyway? It’s never been easier to take points off your driving record from a speeding ticket. A new Tennessee law now allows drivers to complete the DriveSafe Online Tennessee traffic school course and eliminate driver’s license points.
Does this message look familiar?
“A review of your driving record reveals that you have been convicted of a speeding violation that meets the criteria to allow you to complete and submit a four (4) hour traffic school course to remove any accumulated points from this conviction up to five points.”
If you receive this notice from the Tennessee Department of Safety, you are eligible to take the state-approved 4-hour DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving course.
How do I take a Tennessee Traffic School course?
- Receive Notice
If you receive a speeding ticket in Tennessee, and you are eligible to take a traffic school course to remove the points associated with that citation, the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security will mail you a notice explaining the situation.
- Choose DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving Course
The letter you receive outlines your options and offers a list of approved safe driving courses. While multiple programs are available, know that not all online defensive driving courses are created equal. DriveSafeOnline.org is a Tennessee state-approved 4-hour Traffic School course. It was named the “Best Overall Online Defensive Driving Course” for 2021. Reviewers gave our course high marks for reasonable pricing, course options, and outstanding customer service. Simply click HERE to go directly to the DriveSafe Online Tennessee Traffic School course START screen.
- Register and Begin the Course
Select START. Complete the short course registration. And then take the course. You can complete the program in one sitting or pause/stop/restart as often as you want without losing your progress in the course.
- Get Your Completion Certificate
Immediately after you complete the course content and pass the final exam (99% of our users pass the test on their first attempt), your completion certificate will be emailed to your inbox.
Be sure to print a copy of the certificate of completion for your records and mail or fax a copy to the Tennessee authorities. It is your responsibility to verify that you have completed the course to earn your point reduction.
Financial Responsibility Section
P.O. Box 945
Nashville, TN 37202-0945
Remember that you have 90 days from the date of the violation to complete the course. The Department of Safety will not grant an extension of time, so be sure to register early to ensure you have plenty of time to submit your course completion certificate. The good news is that the DriveSafe Online driver improvement program is entirely online and mobile friendly. There’s no need to worry about a long waiting list or classroom visits. You can take the course on your laptop, tablet, and phone whenever you want, wherever you want.