Don’t drive yourself out of your mind.

You can reduce your insurance rates with the right documents. The best document you can have is your official driving record, also known as your motor vehicle record.

But many people don’t know what’s on their record. Even fewer know where to get their record. Don’t worry.

Here is a quick guide on your driving record.

What’s on Your Driving Record

Your driving record is not a comprehensive record of your driving history. But your record features at least three years of information. Some records can contain up to ten years.

Your record includes any points you have accrued on your license. It may also contain points on your insurance. Any legal actions taken against your license will appear.

Accidents can also appear on your record. Your record will note whether or not you were at fault. Your driving record does not include non-moving violations.

Your record will also contain your personal information, such as your driver’s license number and license plate. It will not include your non-driving related criminal history.

Your driving record is technically public information. This means that law enforcement, private investigators, and insurance agents can request a copy of it. Some states require your consent, but others let individuals with your information access your records.

How to Get a Copy

There are three ways you can get a copy of your driving record. The first is through the Department of Motor Vehicles.

You can either get a copy in person or through the mail. You will have to pay a fee, regardless of how you get your copy. The processing fee in Connecticut is $20 while the fee in Tennessee is $5.

You fill out a form with your personal information, then you hand the form in with the cash fee. You will receive your record in a few days.

If you notice an error on your record, you have to go to the DMV to fix it. Procedures to request a fix vary, and it may take days for them to fix an error.

The second way to get a copy is through your insurance agent. Since they have access to your record, they may be able to get a copy for free. They can also give you an unofficial summary for free.

Talk to your agent about what services they offer. Not all agents offer copies. Keep in mind that they will read your record if you ask them for a copy.

The third way to get a copy is through third-party vendors. Vendors can get you a copy quickly, sometimes within one business day. But they charge a lot of money, and their copy may not be complete.

The best way is to go through the DMV. It will take more time than the other two options. But you will receive your full, official record.

Defense Is the Best Offense 

Your driving record determines your insurance rates. Get a copy so you can save yourself money.

Your driving record includes all driving violations and vehicle information for at least three years. You can receive a copy through three methods, but the most official records come through the DMV.

Having the right papers can keep your insurance rates down. But the best way to reduce your rates is to be a smart defensive driver.

DriveSafe Online offers effective and affordable defensive driving lessons. Request a free demo today.