NEWS ALERT: Have you received a speeding ticket? Now you can remove speeding ticket points from your driving record with the DriveSafe Online Tennessee Defensive Driving course.


Dismiss a ticket. Get an insurance discount.

Approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security.

ONLY $19.95 with Coupon: TNSave

Click ‘START’ to begin the best Online Defensive Driving Course.

No Hidden Fees

Never had them. Never will. Our simple pricing means you get access to the full video course and completion certificate for one affordable price.


No Course Timers

Forget the digital speed bumps. You control your own pace through the course.

Mobile Friendly

You’re mobile and so is our course. Enjoy the most engaging online defensive driving course on your favorite tablet anytime, anywhere.

Money Back Guarantee

No risk. We promise your money back if you use our course for an insurance discount but are unable to save with the course completion certificate.

Our Tennessee Online Traffic School Course Features:

  • State of Tennessee approved content
  • Court-accepted ticket dismissal
  • Auto insurance premiums discount
  • No course timers
  • 99% passing rate on first attempt
  • Certificate available immediately after completion
  • Money-back guarantee
  • Only $19.95 using coupon code:
    TNSave (regular price $24.95)

Complete the Tennessee Online Defensive Driving Course in Shortest Time Allowed

Tennessee law requires online defensive drivers courses to be at least 4 hours in length. The DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving course is based on the Tennessee Comprehensive Driver License Manual, so you see essential information outlined by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security (TDOSHS). No more and no less.

We created our Tennessee online driver safety course with you in mind. Quick to access and easy to use.

The mobile-friendly design includes ZERO content timers, so you control your pace through the material. Begin the course on your home computer and finish on your tablet or smartphone. The course tracks your progress. Start and stop as much as you want without missing any content.

Enjoy the Most Engaging Online Traffic School Course in Tennessee

DriveSafe Online® is unique because it features short bite-sized videos. Like a playlist for defensive driver training. Move seamlessly from one video to the next to learn about driving-related laws, regulations, techniques and best practices. The video library menu makes it easy to replay a specific movie.

Enjoy high-quality video with in-car and drone footage demonstrating key defensive driving techniques. Improve safe-driving decisions with interactive scenarios. And use helpful review quizzes to prepare you for the certification assessment.

Discover how our course is unlike any other online defensive driving course. We believe you’ll agree that DriveSafe Online® is the most engaging online traffic school class available today.


Louisiana defensive driving course that can save you money on your auto insurance premium.

Did you know?

Using DriveSafe Online to dismiss a traffic ticket can save you hundreds of dollars in auto insurance rate increases.

Remove Speeding Ticket Points From Your License

Keep your record clean and protect your driving privileges. The Tennessee Department of Safety now allows you to eliminate up to five points from your driver’s license.

Under Tennessee law, points are added to your driving record based on accidents or traffic violations. If you receive 12 or more points within a 12-month period, your license could be suspended.

Effective July 2022, you could be eligible to keep points off your record by successfully completing the DriveSafe Online Tennessee driver improvement program within 90 days of the violation.

Our point-reduction course is state-approved and completely online, so you never have to step foot inside a classroom to earn your point reduction.

A clean driving record can also help save you money. Insurance companies prefer careful drivers with good driving history. You could qualify for a defensive driving discount that saves you hundreds of dollars over three years simply by passing an online safe driver course.

Start your detour to a clean driving record now.

Take Advantage of the Tennessee Driver Money-Back Guarantee

Our customer review score is exceptional. We’re proud that DriveSafe Online® is the #1 choice for Tennessee drivers interested in dismissing traffic tickets and saving money on car insurance.

We want to earn your trust and satisfaction. That’s why we offer a no-risk money-back guarantee. If you complete the DriveSafe Online® Defensive Driving course to qualify for insurance savings, and your insurance company denies you a safe driving discount, we will refund your registration payment. It’s that simple.

Enjoy the Benefits of the Best State Approved Tennessee Traffic School Course Including:

• 100% mobile friendly
• Fully narrated video and animation with closed captioning
• Refreshed and improved road knowledge and driving skills
• Unique in-car and drone video for real-world perspectives
• Practice quizzes to prepare you for the completion test
• Intelligent bookmarking so you can start and stop without missing content
• Completion certificate available immediately after passing the final exam
Only $19.95 using coupon code: TNSave (regular price $24.95)


Frequently Asked Questions

Can I get My Ticket Dismissed in Tennessee?

Yes! Numerous Tennessee courts accept the DriveSafe Online completion certificate for ticket dismissal.

If you receive a ticket for a traffic violation, a judge may grant you permission to take a 4-hour online driver education course to dismiss that citation before it appears on your driving record.

Our Tennessee defensive driving course is fully-approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security (TDOSHS) to dismiss your ticket. Check with your court to see if your case qualifies. When you contact your court, be sure to have your traffic ticket information available, including the ticket number, date and violation.

Once you have permission to take our course, simply sign up, successfully complete it and return your certificate of completion to the courthouse as instructed by the court.

Tennessee Point System

The Driver Improvement Section of the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security tracks the driving performance of TN drivers. Drivers who accumulate 12 or more points on their record within a 12-month period could have their driving privileges suspended.

One of the most common traffic violations is speeding. Drivers caught speeding in Tennessee will have the following points added to their driving record:

1 Point – 1 to 5 mph over posted speed limit
3 Points – 6 to 15 mph over posted speed limit
4 Points – 16 to 25 mph over posted speed limit
8 Points – 46+ mph over posted speed limit

A driver who collects at least 12 points may be granted the opportunity to complete an approved defensive driving course to avoid suspension or reduce suspension duration. However, Tennessee does not allow points to be removed from driving records.

How to get your defensive driver insurance discount in Tennessee:

1. Contact Your Insurance Agent
Online traffic school classes are popular with many insurance companies because they help create safer drivers. Safer drivers typically have fewer accidents and claims to file, which can save insurance companies money. Ask your insurance agent about available discounts for completing the DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving program.

2. Pass the DriveSafe Online Tennessee Defensive Driving Course

Complete the online registration form to unlock the full list of course features. You get access to multimedia, practice quizzes/final assessment and the course completion certificate for one affordable price.

3. Get Your Tennessee Defensive Driver Completion Certificate

Your authorized defensive driver course completion certification is available by email immediately after you pass the final assessment. You also have the option to send the completion certificate directly to your insurance agent who can begin processing your new insurance discount.

Tennessee Driver Services Centers

TN Driver Services Centers provide a wealth of DMV-related services at locations throughout the state. Be aware that there are different types of stations offering specific services. Know which stations offer the services you need before you visit the center.

Type of Driver Services Centers:

Full Service Station – Provides driver license issuance, vision testing and knowledge and skills testing.

Express Station – Provides duplicate license and license renewal services only.

Driver License Reinstatement Center – Provides services for drivers who have had their driving privileges revoked or suspended.

Find the Nearest Tennessee Driver Services Center

Visit the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security website for a complete list of Driver Service Centers. Search by location and quickly review helpful information including:

  • services provided
  • address
  • hours of operation
  • contact information

Documents to Take to the Tennessee Driver Services Center

You must be able to prove your identity no matter which service you need. Typically, you are required to bring proof of your U.S. citizenship, Tennessee residency and Social Security number. Keep in mind that photocopies of these documents are not accepted.
Visit the TN Driver Services website for detailed information about required documentation.

How Do I Get a Tennessee Driver’s License?

The CLASS D License is the regular driver license required to operate a passenger vehicle in Tennessee. To qualify for a CLASS D License, you must:

    • be at least 16 years of age
    • pass a vision test
    • pass a knowledge test
    • complete a driving test

If you are under the age of 18, you must apply for a CLASS PD Learner Permit. This license allows you to drive a passenger vehicle under specific conditions. For example, you must drive during certain hours and only with a licensed adult 21 years or older. You must collect enough hours behind the wheel to get the experience necessary to earn your CLASS D license.

To qualify for a CLASS PD Learner Permit, you must:

  • be at least 15 years of age
  • pass a vision test
  • pass a knowledge test

How Can I Access the Tennessee Driver’s manual?

All the information you need to pass the written DMV test can be found in the Tennessee Comprehensive Driver License Manual. You should review the content before you take the written test or practice road skills.

How Do I Renew My Tennessee Driver’s License?

Tennessee Driver’s Licenses expire every 8 years for drivers older than 21 years of age. If you fail to renew your license on or before the expiration date, you are no longer allowed to operate a motor vehicle until you receive your new license. So, it’s important that you pay attention to the due date to avoid losing your driving privileges.

Visit a Driver Service Center that processes renewals to update your license. You may also be able to skip the lines at the DMV and renew your license online or by mail. Check the TN Department of Safety and Homeland Security website for driver license renewal options and information.

Keep in mind you must visit a Driver Service Center in person the first time you renew your license.

DriveSafe Online Named “Best Overall Online Defensive Driving Course” by Investopedia

We’d like to honk our own horn for a moment because we’re excited to receive some great news. DriveSafe Online has been named “Best Overall Online Defensive Driving Course” by Investopedia, a leading source of business and financial information. The website is a...

How to Find a Qualified Mechanic

You may only think about taking your car to a mechanic if it breaks down. However, properly maintaining your car is just as important (if not more important) than making repairs. Proper maintenance through a qualified mechanic can ultimately save you money and reduce...

Shifting the Narrative: Why We Should Call Accidents Collisions

According to the World Health Organization, road traffic injuries are the leading cause of death for children and young adults aged 5-29 years, with approximately 1.4 million people losing their lives each year due to road traffic crashes. Despite these alarming...

Why Choose a DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving Course?

If you search for an online driving course, you will find many available options. A defensive driving course can be called many different things: Driving safety course Defensive driving school Accident prevention course Driver improvement program Traffic school It’s...

25 Years of Training Experience


DriveSafe Online® defensive driving courses are developed by the same award-winning eLearning team trusted by top companies around the world to train hundreds of thousands of people. 

Some of our clients and partners include Oracle, Hyatt, Cessna, Kellogg’s, PepsiCo and Georgia-Pacific. We have been creating online courses since 1994. In fact, we helped develop many innovative standards you see in online courses today. 

Simply put, we know what it takes to create online courses that are interesting, fun to take and actually help you learn.

Our work has earned multiple awards for:

  •   Best content
  •   Best advance in technology
  •   Best innovation

Now our team is focused on revolutionizing online driver education.

DriveSafe Online courses merge unique graphics and animations, interactive scenarios with narrated stories and video demonstrations—including in-car and drone footage—to deliver safe driving information like no other online defensive driving course available today.

Our mission is to develop a better way to help you:

  •   Save money on your auto insurance
  •   Meet court-ordered driver improvement plans
  •   Dismiss traffic tickets or reduce points
  •   Reinforce your driver road knowledge
  •   Become a safer driver

The way we see it, we all share the same streets and highways. If we each take the time to do our part to understand driving laws and regulations, improve our driving performance, and be courteous to other drivers, the roads will be safer for everyone to enjoy. 

Drive smart. Drive confident. And always, DriveSafe.

Your Road to Savings

Using DriveSafe Online to dismiss a traffic ticket can save you hundreds of dollars in auto insurance rate increases.