Oops. You were on your way to your sister’s wedding. The sky was clear and blue, and the sun was shining bright. A classic song from high school was blasting through the car speakers. And there was not another vehicle in view on the highway.
Everything was great. That is, until you noticed the flashing lights in your rearview mirror. You got lost in the sky, the music, and the open road and you failed to pay attention to your speed.
The bad news is that you got a speeding ticket. The good news is that you may be able to take a defensive driving course to dismiss the ticket and avoid points added to your driving record.
But which course should you choose—one customized for the state where you live or the state where you received the ticket? Read on to find out.
Take a Defensive Driving Course
Several states offer eligible drivers the opportunity to take an online defensive driving course to keep the ticket and/or points off your driving record.
If you live in a state that uses a point system, like Georgia, Idaho, and Louisiana, points are added to your driving record if you are convicted of a traffic violation.
For example, 2 points may be added for driving 10 mph over the posted speed limit, and 3 points added for going 20 mph over the maximum. If you accumulate too many points within a specific time frame (typically within a 12-month period), your driver’s license could be suspended.
By taking an online defensive driving course, you can remove existing points or keep new points from appearing on your record altogether. Maintaining a clean driving record not only keeps your driving privileges intact, but also saves you from increased insurance rates due to poor driving behavior.
Select Your State
DriveSafe Online offers a customized defensive driving course for each state and the District of Columbia. Learn about state-specific traffic laws and regulations, as well as helpful driving tips and techniques to keep you safe anywhere you drive. However, it’s important to take the appropriate course to satisfy court or DMV requirements.
To register for a DriveSafe Online course, you will visit the Select Your State web page to find the course that suits your needs. Keep in mind that where you live and where you received your ticket will determine the course you should take.
The State Where You Live
If you plan to take a defensive driving course to earn an insurance discount, SELECT THE STATE WHEREYOU CURRENTLY LIVE.
Some insurance providers accept one-hour course completion certificates, while others require longer courses to qualify for discounts. Ask your agent if your carrier offers a defensive driving discount, and then find out how much money you could save by completing an online driver safety course.
The State Where You Received Your Ticket
If you want to take a defensive driving course to dismiss a ticket or remove points from your driving record, SELECT THE STATE WHERE YOU RECEIVED THE TICKET. That might be your home state, or it could be a different state you were driving through on your way to your sister’s wedding.
When taking any online driver safety course to dismiss a ticket or reduce points, always check with the appropriate court or DMV representative where you received the ticket to make sure they accept defensive driving course certificates. Regulations can vary from state to state and even from court to court, so it’s smart to get approval before you register for any course.