ALABAMA ONLINE DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSE
Easy to Pass. Insurance Discount / Dismiss a Ticket. Full-Screen Video.
Click START to begin the best defensive driving course in Alabama
Select this course to meet a Level 1 court 4-hour defensive driving requirement.
Choose the 6-hour Level 2 course if required by your court.
Most drivers use the 1-hour version to get their defensive driving insurance discount.
Select this course if your insurance agent tells you to take a 6-hour course.
No Hidden Fees
Never had them. Never will. Our simple pricing means you get access to the full defensive driving video course and completion certificate for one affordable price.
No Course Timers
Forget the digital speed bumps. You control your own pace through the course.
Our course works on the go. Just like you. You can access the most engaging online defensive driving course anywhere from any web-capable device.
Rest assured. We will issue you a refund if our course certificate doesn’t save you money on your car insurance.
Our Alabama Defensive Driving Courses Feature:
- No course timers
- 99% passing rate on first attempt
- May qualify to dismiss a ticket if allowed by your court
- Save on your insurance or your money back
- Certificate of completion emailed to you immediately after passing the final exam
- Money-back guarantee
- Only $24.95 with NO hidden fees
Work at Your Own Pace
Who better to decide how to use your time than you? Cruise through the course or take it as slow as sweet molasses. No pesky timer and easy-to-use navigation mean you will be able to budget your valuable time.
Best of all, the time you do spend in the courses will fly. Our lessons are full-screen video and fully engaging.
Experience Alabama’s Most Engaging Online Defensive Driving Course
DriveSafe Online provides a unique guided menu of brief and entertaining videos. Taking the information in targeted small chunks makes learning about traffic laws and regulations flexible and easy to remember.
Learn how to apply practical techniques to protect yourself and others on the road. Want to repeat a safe driving procedure? No problem. All content is easy to find and replay.
Our high-quality video provides you with in-car and birds-eye views of defensive driving techniques. Our interactive scenarios strengthen your ability to make safe-driving decisions. Our review quizzes help prepare you for the certification assessment. Speaking of the completion certificate, did you know that it’s included for FREE? Our competitors may charge extra for this certificate, but we never will. IF they have audio and video, our competitors often charge you extra for these features. We never will. Our competitors often surprise you with these and other hidden fees. We never will.
You will quickly realize why DriveSafe Online is so effective. It’s time saving. It’s intuitive. It’s engaging.
DriveSafe Online’s Alabama Defensive Driving Courses can save you hundreds of dollars on your auto insurance annually. The savings last for three years once you complete the course.
Can you afford to wait?
Enjoy the Alabama Money-Back Guarantee
Still unsure? Our Trustpilot customer reviews speak for themselves. Whether seeking to lower insurance rates or to dismiss a ticket, our customers rave about their experiences with DriveSafe Online.
We want you to be completely satisfied. That’s why our program comes with a no-risk money-back guarantee. If you are seeking an insurance discount through your completion of the DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving course and your insurance company denies you this discount, we will refund your registration fee. You read that right! This is just one way we ensure your complete satisfaction.
Consider These Benefits of Alabama’s Best Defensive Driving Class:
- 100% mobile-friendly courses
- Fully animated and narrated videos plus closed captioning
- Updated facts about safe driving skills
- In-car and birds-eye video perspectives
- Helpful practice quizzes along the way
- Easy-to-pass final test
- Intelligent bookmarks let you start and stop without repeating or missing content
- Completion certificate emailed to you immediately upon passing the final test
- Only $24.95 with NO hidden costs
From Mobile to Montgomery and Birmingham to Huntsville… we have Alabama covered!
Frequently Asked Questions
- DriveSafe Online Alabama
- Alabama Insurance Discount
- Alabama Ticket Dismissal
- Alabama DMV
- Alabama Driver License
Frequently Asked Questions About DriveSafe Online’s Alabama Course:
How much does defensive driving school cost in Alabama?
Defensive driving schools in Alabama come in several forms. In-person courses require you to drive to a location and sit in an uncomfortable chair for hours. DriveSafe Online makes the most of your time commitment, since you can take the course anytime, on any device.
And there’s only a one-time registration fee that gets you access to all the course materials, practice tests, our highly rated customer service, and your certificate of completion. For only $24.95, you can take the best defensive driving course in Alabama.
Do I have to pay for traffic school and the ticket?
Nobody likes getting a traffic ticket. Not only do you have to pay the fine, but you could even see an increase in your car insurance due to the points going on your record. Earn enough points and you might even lose your license for awhile!
But you may be able to avoid much of that by taking the DriveSafe Online Alabama Defensive Driving course. Check with your court before paying the fine to see if you are eligible to take a driving course to dismiss your ticket and keep points off your record. If your ticket is dismissed, you may still be required to pay fees associated with your ticket. However, your $24.95 course investment can help you maintain a clean driving record, which could help you save hundreds of dollars in rising insurance rates.
Will going to traffic school help my insurance?
Every day it seems like we’re paying more for goods and services. So it makes sense to look for ways to cut back wherever we can. You never want to skimp on insurance – but a discount? That’s a win!
Completing an online traffic school like DriveSafe Online’s Alabama Defensive Driving course may allow you to get a reduction of your auto insurance rates. Talk to your insurance agent to see if you qualify for a discount and get details about their requirements.
What do you do after online traffic school?
Registering for DriveSafe Online’s Defensive Driving course earns you access to all instructional videos, practice quizzes, and the final assessment. After you’ve successfully completed the assessment, you’ll immediately receive the course completion certificate.
Simply forward the completion certificate to your insurance agent, and if you are eligible for a discount, they will apply it to your account. Talk to your agent for more details on their requirements for defensive driving discounts.
Am I eligible for online defensive driving school in Alabama?
Many drivers consider online defensive driving schools. While some simply want to refresh their skills, others are looking to save on their insurance premiums or help with a ticket on their driving record.
The state of Alabama allows online defensive driving schools for residents who wish to earn a defensive driving discount and, also, sometimes for residents who want help dismissing a ticket. Ultimately, though, your eligibility for a discount or ticket dismissal applies to the agency or court you are working with. For discount eligibility, contact your insurance agent prior to registering for the course. For ticket dismissal, you will need to speak to the court from where your ticket was issued to gain approval. Courts make these decisions on a case-by-case basis.
How to get your defensive driver insurance discount in Alabama:
1. Contact your insurance agent
Many insurance companies like web-based defensive driving courses because they help create drivers who are safer and are therefore less of an expensive liability. Just like you, these companies are often seeking ways to save money and may reward you by sharing their savings. Ask your insurance agent how completing the DriveSafe Online Defensive Driving program can save you money with insurance discounts.
2. Pass the Alabama DriveSafe Online defensive driving course
Once you complete the online registration form, you will unlock the full list of course features. Remember, for one affordable price, you get access to all instructional videos, practice quizzes, the final assessment, AND the course completion certificate.
3. Get your Alabama defensive driver completion certificate
As SOON as you pass the final assessment, we will email your official course completion certificate. One to you and one to your insurance agent. You can provide your agent’s email address when registering for the course. Let the insurance savings begin!
Is it possible to get my Alabama ticket dismissed?
Alabama courts may allow you to use the DriveSafe Online completion certificate to dismiss a ticket and keep points off your driving record.
You need to check with your court on it’s court requirements to see if your case qualifies for this process. Have your traffic ticket information available to share with the clerk, including the date, violation, and ticket number.
Once you obtain permission from the court to take our course, just sign up, review the short interactive videos, pass the final test, and submit your completion certificate as the court instructs you to do so.
Alabama Point System
The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency monitors the driving infractions of AL drivers. These infractions correspond to a point system. A driver who accumulates 12 or more points on their record within a 2-year time frame could have their driving privileges suspended.
There are many reasons that a driver may be penalized with points. Drivers in Alabama caught committing any of the following offenses will have the corresponding number of points attached to their driving record:
Speeding (up to 25 mph over posted speed limit) – 2 Points
Speeding (over 25 mph over posted speed limit) – 5 Points
Reckless driving or endangerment involving the operating of a motor vehicle – 6 Points
Failure to yield right of way – 5 Points
Passing a stopped school bus – 5 Points
Driving on the wrong side of the road/illegally passing – 4 Points
Following other vehicles too closely – 3 Points
Disregarding a traffic control device such as a traffic light or stop sign – 3 Points
Demonstrating an inability to control vehicle – 2 Points
Operating vehicle while drinking alcohol – 2 Points
Failure to yield to emergency vehicles – 2 Points
Making an improper turn – 2 Points Alabama courts follow a schedule for determining the number of days a driver will experience a suspension of their driving privileges
The following list outlines suspension duration for accumulating points within a two-year period:
12-14 points – 60 days
15-17 points – 90 days
18-20 points – 120 days
21-23 points – 180 days
24+ points – 365 days
If you are facing a suspension, ask the court about obtaining a DriveSafe Online completion certificate to remove points from your record
Alabama Law Enforcement Driver License Department
Through the State of Alabama Department of Public Safety, AL Driver License Service Centers make a multitude of DMV-related services available at locations throughout the state. Note that different stations may offer unique services.
Please check in advance before visiting a center to verify it’s business days and ensure it provides the services you need.
Type of Driver License Service Centers:
DL Examining District Offices – Issues vision tests, knowledge and skills tests, and driver licenses.
CDL District Offices – Provides tests and services related to commercial driver licenses.
Reinstatement Offices– Makes resources and services available to drivers whose driving privileges have been suspended or revoked.
Find the Closest Alabama Driver License Service Center
Check out the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency web site for a complete list of Driver License Service Centers. Here you can search by county and filter by the type of office you need. When you find your location, click on it to see:
- address and directions
- phone numbers for different services
- hours of operation
Note that some services are offered online.
Required Documents by Alabama Driver License Service Centers
If you are seeking a driver or learner license, you will need to bring two forms of identification, including at least one photo ID (such as U.S. passport or Alabama identification card), in addition to your social security card. You will also need to bring 2 proofs of your principal residence (such as residential mortgage contract or current lease).
If you are 19 or younger and applying for the first time, you will also need to show a school enrollment form or proof that you graduated. Finally, anyone 18 or older who needs to complete testing for a license must bring proof of car insurance and a vehicle that will pass the inspection. You will use this vehicle to take the road test and so it must be road legal. Fees apply and depend on the services you are seeking. Visit the Document Requirements and Fees page of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency web site for details.
How do I get an Alabama driver’s license?
The standard driver license required in Alabama to operate a passenger vehicle is the Class D Alabama driver license. To qualify for this license, you must:
- be at least 16 years old
- pass the vision test (with or without corrective lenses as needed)
- pass the knowledge test
- pass the road test
If you are 15 years old, you can obtain a Restricted Learner License upon passing the written test. This learner license, which is the Class D Alabama driver license but with a “Y” restriction, allows you to drive a passenger vehicle so long as a licensed driver who is 21+ years old is occupying the seat next to you. If you are 16+ years old, you can pass the written test to earn your Unrestricted Learner License, which means that any licensed driver can occupy the seat next to you as you practice driving.
To get the “Y” restriction removed, you must:
- be between the ages of 16 and 18
- have held your Learner License for 6 months OR until 18th birthday
- pass the road test
How can I access the Alabama Driver’s Manual?
Everything you need to know to pass the knowledge test is contained in the Alabama Driver Manual. Make sure to review the content of this manual before taking the knowledge test or practice road skills.
How can I renew my Alabama driver’s license?
Your Alabama driver’s license expires 4 years after the date issued. While there is a 60-day grace period after expiration, any expired license becomes completely invalid after this time frame and renewal can become more difficult. Make sure you keep tabs on the expiration date printed on your license.
As early as 180 days prior to the expiration of your license, you can renew it in several different places, including: Alabama On-Line Driver License Issuance System, Self-Serve Kiosks, DL Examining Offices, Offices of Probate Judge, or License Commissioner’s Offices.
25 Years of Training Experience
DriveSafe Online® defensive driving courses are developed by the same award-winning eLearning team trusted by top companies around the world to train millions of people.
Some of our clients and partners include Oracle, Hyatt, Cessna, Kellogg’s, PepsiCo and Georgia-Pacific. We have been creating online courses since 1994. In fact, we helped develop many innovative standards you see in online courses today.
Simply put, we know what it takes to create online courses that are interesting, fun to take and actually help you learn.
Our work has earned multiple awards for:
- Best content
- Best advance in technology
- Best innovation
Now our team is focused on revolutionizing online driver education.
DriveSafe Online courses merge unique graphics and animations, interactive scenarios with narrated stories and video demonstrations—including in-car and drone footage—to deliver safe driving information like no other online defensive driving course available today.
Our mission is to develop a better way to help you:
- Save money on your auto insurance
- Meet court-ordered driver improvement plans
- Dismiss traffic tickets or reduce points
- Reinforce your driver road knowledge
- Become a safer driver
The way we see it, we all share the same streets and highways. If we each take the time to do our part to understand driving laws and regulations, improve our driving performance, and be courteous to other drivers, the roads will be safer for everyone to enjoy.
Drive smart. Drive confident. And always, DriveSafe.